Fledge handmade market

Yesterday was the second Fledge@ the Fringe Market in Harrington Square in town. Anne and Megan picked me up and we got there just after 10h00. My first impression was gobsmacked-ness by the gorgeous baroque building that houses Charly’s Bakery at the north side of the square, which presided over the market like an over-decorated cake at a barmitzvah. What, you’ve never been to Charly’s before? my companions scoffed. What can I say? I clearly don’t get out much.

The market was fabulous – extremely well-organised, stunning displays and products of superior quality and original design, plenty of room for buyers, and a wonderfully aroma-ed coffee stand that I never quite seemed able to reach because I was constantly side-tracked by all the STUFF there was to look at. There is so much creative talent out there, it blew me away. I managed to restrain myself from spending a whole months’ salary in one go, and bought a beautiful shabby chic (shabby shabby?) chalkboard and three brooches.

The rabbit brooch in the middle is made from the lid of a jam jar, and the text is Pink milk is my favourite and my best. The person who made it even took the trouble to stitch  a pink felt heart on the back under the brooch pin, like a little secret.

We were so inspired by what we saw that we’re going to apply for a stand ourselves at the next market, scheduled for some time in April. We are, after all, the jam tarts girls. See our facebook page :-) http://www.facebook.com/JamTarts4

To be continued…

2 thoughts on “Fledge handmade market

  1. Patch

    The crochet flower on the left is very similar to the ones I bought at the school christmas fair which started me off on my recent crochet addiction!!

    Reply
  2. Jill Goldberg Post author

    Yes, I read what you wrote about the beginning of your addiction :-) I wore that brooch today to meet a friend for coffee and a bit of a shop. I didn’t see anything else as nice anywhere. My daughter often asks me why I bought something handmade by someone else since I could probably make it myself (some things yes, some not!) but I like to remind myself that there are hundreds of other people out there toiling away and getting excited over their creations, and it’s inspiring.

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

