always something else to grab my eye

I had to rush through to Salt River at lunchtime to the tile shop to replenish my stock of purple glass squares (am halfway through mosaicing another little table, and didn’t check to see I had enough before starting – I never learn). Firstly, let me just say that it’s no mean feat rushing through lunchtime traffic in the southern suburbs when it’s THIRTY DEGREES hot.  Secondly, there’s always something new to catch one’s eye, even when you’re in a tearing hurry – or is it especially when you’re in a tearing hurry? There were small stacks of these square, barmy, imperfect little stone tiles. They were on sale. Now they are mine.

I decided to use three of them as plaques for these ceramic hearts that I bought from Francois Korver a while ago. (His website is a delight: www.stoorceramics.co.za).  I need to find a way to hang them on the wall securely, they’re pretty heavy, and smooth smooth at the back.  Ideas are welcome.

I am ridiculously pleased with myself. And all I did was stick one thing onto another thing. 

To be continued…

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

