another Kalk Bay Sunday

As one so often finds on a beautiful Sunday in autumn, a trip to the hardware store is essential. We usually go to Builders Warehouse in Tokai, which is so huge that we always find what we need and then some but, at the same time, we can’t take more than thirty minutes of the mega-store atmosphere and thousands of small children.
So we carried on down the coast to Kalk Bay.
The sea was an incredible, intense blue, and this chap seemed happy to be out on it. 

A little market had been set up next to the station, with a few very small nods to Queen Elizabeth II’s long service award.

Coffee and cheesecake was served right next to the line, and if it wasn’t a Sunday one would presumably have to put up with an earth-shattering roar every 15 to 20 minutes as a train thundered past.

It’s always useful to come across other people’s ideas, especially if you would be unlikely to ever dream them up yourself. And also especially if they are really stupid because then you can avoid similar idiocy. Like using old handbags as planters.

Leaving the market, I heard Mystic Rose across the road calling me. It’s one of my favourite shops and I was obviously meant to be there today because the magic 4-letter word was up.

After that, we carried on a bit further south to Glencairn Heights because my mother had phoned me on the way to say that there had been an attempted break-in at her holiday house up on the hill. I didn’t have any keys with me but Rob leapt determinedly over the wall and checked things out. He found a large rock on the deck which had most likely been thrown at the glass doors, as the glass was cracked. No doubt that was when the alarm went off, to the great joy of the neighbours, probably at about 4.00am. Nothing else to report, no actual entry. Always a relief.

Turn left, it’s time to go home.

To be continued…

3 thoughts on “another Kalk Bay Sunday

  1. tgonzales

    Jill,

    Thanks for sharing the beautiful pictures of the water. I’m sure you are so used to it that it’s no big deal. Here in Kansas the only bodies of water we have is an almost dried up river and lakes. Don’t get me wrong, I’m very grateful for the water I can see when I want to venture out in the heat.

    I’m sorry to hear that someone tried to break into your Mother’s home. But at the same time it’s good that you have the alarm that probably deterred them from actually getting in. Thanks for sharing all the photos of your weekend. I do love hearing all about it.

    Hugs,
    Tamara

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      The view from my apartment is of Table Mountain, and it’s odd how seldom I actually see the sea because I tend to stay in my own little loop (home, office, shops, library, etc). I am also not a beach bunny so that is never a summer activity for me. For me, as an immigrant (from Johannesburg), Cape Town is defined more by the mountain and the sky.
      And as for the attempted break-in — well, crime is just yet another defining feature of this city. Sigh. It has become so rife that people consider themselves lucky if they are not physically hurt. Theft and break-ins we can handle!

      Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

