Milnerton Market in pictures

I have over 30 scarves, and they are becoming a problem.  They don’t fit properly anywhere and get mixed up with other things in the wardrobe. I had the brilliant idea this past week of having a towel rail put up in my bedroom next to the dresser, so that I could drape all 40 30 scarves in one place and they would all be easily visible and accessible. This is why we went to the Milnerton Market today, to find a towel rail.

The Milnerton Market, which is actually in Paarden Eiland but on the way to Milnerton and is less of a mouthful to say, is a really extraordinary place.   It has grown enormously over the last couple of years,  and there must be over 400 traders on a sunny Sunday like today. You can get anything and everything, from kitchen ware and furry deerhunters made in China, to rusted spanners and vice grips from what might be Voortrekker times, to British royalty  memorabilia (there was a lot of Charles and Diana today, oddly), to handmade wooden furniture, bicycles turned into planters, long-playing records turned into dishes, and cosmetics and clothes and hats and batteries and and and

The buyers are as much of a cross-section as the traders. All classes, all colours, all ages, and I heard at least 12 different languages being spoken.  There were fashionistas, antique dealers, junk junkies (like me), grannies, bike and hobby enthusiasts, shop owners, DIY guys, and even ordinary people just doing their weekly vegetable shop. And cash, of course, is king.  

There is a beautiful view of the mountain from that side of the peninsula, so my gallery of photos will start with that; it ends with a couple of exhausted dogs, waiting for their owners to pack up and take them home, and last of all a picture of my feet in their wonderful new crocheted slippers that I snapped up. I chatted briefly to Jean, who made them, and suggested she try a more up-market market, as it were. She said she will just as soon as she manages to get a new car – her old one was stolen, then her brother wrote off the replacement. I hope she gets one soon.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

To be continued…

 

4 thoughts on “Milnerton Market in pictures

    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      Yes, the whole event/place is a semiotic treasure trove. And yes, I did find a rail – Rob spotted a 1-metre length curtain pole with finials on a chain – it couldn’t have been more ideal, and was a bargain at R60.

      Reply
  1. Nice piece of work Post author

    They are wonderful. I think they might look odd, but I don’t really care. I have been padding around in them since I got home and I’m going to resent having to change for work. :-)

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

