balloon experiments

I wish I could say that I had a clear idea in mind but I can’t. All I know is that, for the last few days, I have been mulling over what I can do with balloons, glue and fabric.  Inspired by a photo of a lampshade made with crocheted doilies molded over a balloon, the other day I bought a big bag of balloons and got busy with bits of lacy fabric and glue.  The balloon was bobbing all over the place so I clamped a pair of forceps on the end bit as an anchor. It still bobbed so I wedged it in a bowl. That worked but then the lacy bits started slithering off. By then I was getting really cross, and the mess in the kitchen was getting bad. In desperation I grabbed a spray can of Weighless vegetable oil, smacked the loose bits back on and sprayed like mad. I don’t really know what I was thinking, but I just wanted it to hold together and get it out of the kitchen. It seemed to stick so I carefully carried the balloon bowl into the passage and put it on top of a pile of wooden boxes to dry.  I deserved more coffee after that and, just as I’d poured it, a loud bang from the passage heralded the disastrous end of my doomed experiment.

But I still have balloons to play with…

This is currently drying. My experiment this time is to soak the lace in watery glue then wrap it round the balloon.  I didn’t think too much about length, as you can see, so whatever happens it’s going to be odd. Like me.

Anyone else ever done anything similar and had more luck? Got any tips?

To be continued….

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “balloon experiments

  1. rowena

    That’s quite some thought process! It reminded me of making papier mache balls when I was a child – that started with a balloon, and you had to hope the paper dried before the balloon burst…….

    I was wondering if hairspray or artist fixative might help you? (Of course it might make the balloon perish even faster…….) But I do want to know what happens next!

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work

      I love papier mache, paper and mush is much easier and more satisfying to work with than fabric and lace. I hate fabric and lace now.
      I have some papier mache hearts somewhere, will try and locate them and post a pic for you.

      Reply
  2. tgonzales

    Jill,

    I love hearing about your ideas. This one made me smile and laugh; I bet you did have a mess. You asked about mishaps, I can’t remember one right off the top of my head right now but I know there have been many. Thanks for making me smile today.

    Love and Hugs,
    Tamara

    Reply
  3. Patch

    Not sure where you are going with this but does your mould have to be a balloon? Is that the required shape? Just thought you could use any upturned container and maybe cover it with cling film to stop your fabric sticking to it?? Might be a more rigid and stable base and wouldn’t pop. Could have fun with different shapes and sizes too if it worked. Plant pots, large yogurt pots, … worlds your lobster!! Not that I have any experience at all! Have a look on Pinterest.

    Reply
  4. Nice piece of work

    Trish, you are right, it doesn’t have to be a balloon, and in fact a balloon isn’t going to give me the size I want either. i have dried doilies over bowls and pots, and that certainly works well. The cling film is an excellent idea. I did have very good results making small crocheted xmas tree decorations years ago, you don’t have to blow the balloon up very big so it’s easy to manage.

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

