perseverance and a lot of swearing

I managed to complete that ^(%@)_*!@ lampshade I started last week (originally wrote about it here).

When I’d worked as much crochet as I needed to reach the top, I stitched it round the edge of the frame (which was wrapped in a thin binding).  It looked really dreadful. Muttering my little mantra “If you’re going to do something, then do it properly, you fool”, I undid the stitches and attached the cover directly to the top ring by dc-ing around it. Big awkward fiddle. Labour of love. But looks nice now.

Now there is only one thing that concerns me, and that is whether the white legs of the frame are too apparent or not. I suppose I could have used a thicker yarn (I used Vinni’s DK cotton, which maybe I should have doubled?) or I could have worked a less holey(holy?) pattern,  or I could carefully slide little strips of khaki-coloured paper between each leg and the cover to hide the white?

Or I could just leave it as it is.   (I used to be indecisive but now I’m not so sure.)   I probably will for now.  It was a trial run because I have lampshades on the brain and I have in fact already moved on…to those two mini lampshades that I picked up at the moving-on sale last week. Tune in tomorrow for the next exciting instalment.

To be continued…

8 thoughts on “perseverance and a lot of swearing

  1. tgonzales

    Jill,

    I love the lampshade and I can’t wait to see the other two. I’m sorry I don’t have any suggestion for you on the white leg problem. Could you place single crochet all along the white legs and then the stitches would make it look like a seam, maybe? I don’t know if that makes any sense but just my thoughts. I know you’re going to make it look great no matter what you do.

    Hugs,
    Tamara

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      It’s not that it doesn’t make sense, it’s just that I’d have to be on serious mind-altering drugs to attempt that!!! I’d rather make a thousand flowers and stick them down the legs on the outside :-)

      Reply
  2. Patch

    Lol! I LOVE ribbon. Now, are you going to get a matching, toning or contrasting colour?? Any of those could potentially look good.

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

