on the fringe

Remember those two sad little lamps I picked up at the Moving-On sale? They’ve had a face lift!

  

This one is my favourite, and I think the cover worked well.  I have realised that the only way to get a crochet cover looking professional is to dc along the top and bottom rings of the frame, so I just have to deal with that. I used colour ‘sand’ in Vinni’s cotton DK and a 4mm hook.  It may get a flower or two, it may not. And I’ll have to do something about the sad little stand, but that’s for another day.

Here is the second shade. Please don’t laugh. I’d like to remind you that I am experimenting here.

  

This frame is straight up and down so I thought it could take a bit of fun. I decided to try a bit of a fringe look, and found this great edging in a book of Rowan Yarn cashmere patterns:

I think it is perhaps a bit overpowering for my little shade and maybe something less self-conscious would have worked better, but whatever – at least I know now how to do it, and it might work really well on something else.

I have asked Zenzo to make me a wire lampshade similar to the second one above but with a more A-line shape.  And as the sun is shining today here in the southern suburbs of Cape Town, that means he and Godfrey will be occupying their pavement spot (they can’t work when it rains), so I’ll be on my way down the road just now.

Have a great Monday, everyone.

To be continued…

 

7 thoughts on “on the fringe

  1. tgonzales

    Jill,

    Oh how I love your inspiring ways and I’ll be eyeing all those lampshade at my Thrift stores and think of you. :) Thanks for sharing.

    Hugs,
    Tamara

    Reply
  2. Patch

    They are FANTASTIC. I admit I did have a big smile on my face when I saw the green one but it works. It’s OTT but that’s why it works. Love it. If you don’t fancy making flowers for the other… How about sewing a few buttons around the bottom edge?? Am full of ideas today! Very unlikely to get much making done as I now have the boys at home all day for the six weeks summer holidays :s

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work

      Well, if you think it works, then that is good enough for me:-)
      and your idea about the buttons is EVEN BETTER THAN THE RIBBONS. From now on, you’re my go-to person.
      Hope your six weeks goes well and that you stay sane. Sane-ish. Heh

      Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

