crockery upcycle

I spent most of my morning at Nicola’s house. She is my hairdresser – the best in the west!! Every now and then I timidly suggest that I should let my grey grow out, because maybe it would be all platinum and shiny and sexy (in a kind of faded, middle-aged way hahaha). She only ever has one response: Over my dead body. So that’s a No.
Karen was also there this morning, which was so nice because she was going straight to a birthday party afterwards with two gifts (one a belated one for someone else), so I could see what she’d made:

Cupcake stands! Out of old plates and sherry glasses. Nicola promptly ordered one for herself, and then one of her other clients followed suit. I’m really pleased – Karen hasn’t been herself lately (I’m not quite sure who exactly she has been, but I prefer the original) so I think a bit of encouragement and support did her good. She is extremely creative, but never seems to see herself that way.

Nicola had saved some chipped mugs for me, to use in my mosaics:

Not quite sure how I’m going to work them in yet, but perhaps I’ll be able to think of something so unusual and gorgeous that I’ll be spared the kind of comment I received from someone at our Open Day. She was looking at my mini mosaic mirrors on their little wire stands and she said, ‘You know, I have a friend who does mosaic work. She’s really good, and she sometimes gives lessons – why don’t you contact her and see if she can fit you in?’

To be continued…

9 thoughts on “crockery upcycle

  1. tgonzales

    WHAT the heck? I can’t believe what comes out of some peoples mouths. You just hold your head high and “Keep on Truckin”! (OMG, I can’t believe I just used that saying) That tells you how old I am doesn’t it? Gray roots and all.

    Love and Hugs,
    Tamara

    Reply
  2. craftytrog

    I am in shock at that thoughtless comment Jill…your mosaics are amazing!
    Karen’s cake-stands are fabulous, I love them, so creative & clever!
    I look forward to seeing what happens to those mugs
    Alison xx

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      Thanks Alison, I will tell Karen what you’ve said. :-)
      You know, I’ve been thinking so much about that comment today, partly because it’s made me laugh so much but also because it is so easy to say something and get the tone or the emphasis wrong, so it changes the meaning. I have done it myself, many times.
      The words themselves are ambiguous so I don’t think she meant to be malicious. It led me to remembering something I said to someone once, which was taken up very badly by her and passed on to other people as proof of what a horrible person I am, so not only was it misunderstood but it also got blown out of proportion. I guess something is ultimately only funny when no-one’s feelings get hurt. :-) !!!

      Reply
  3. rowena

    Cake stands are very ‘on trend’ at the moment here in the UK – a result of a surprisingly successful baking competition on the television, in which people have to both bake and ‘present’ their cakes and bread to the judges; cue lots of rustic baskets and pretty plates!

    Sympathise on the grey hair/no grey hair dilemma. The maintenance is so tedious – my mother had been dying her hair since before I was born, because of a ‘badger’ streak (which I’ve inherited) but decided to stop when she hit 80, so I think I’ll do the same!

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      Badger streaks are quite cool, but I don’t have anything that inherently funky. I guess I’ll just carry on dying for as long as I can.
      Karen has been very inspired by the comments about her stands – I think she’s planning on hitting the Milnerton market tomorrow to find loot. :-)

      Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

