CAL with Rachel, squares #1 #2 #3 #4

I’m taking part in Rachel’s CAL. This is my beginning.

 

Cleaned out an old knitting basket and gave it a fresh piece of gingham lining.  Picked some potential-ish Cottage Garden colours in Pure Gold double knit, although I seem to have a preference for pastels here. (Note to self:  what are you thinking? Add in some brighter colours!!!).

Square #1 – complete disaster.  Colours all wrong, plus I undid and reworked a couple of times, before I decided that I don’t like working diagonally at all.  This asymmetrical square works much better folded in half as a sunglasses case.  But I still hate it. (Anyone need a glasses case?)

 

The next 3 were lovely to do, and I particularly like #4 with the bobbles. I’ve never been tempted to do bobbles before but now I think I’ll work them into some other things.

 

Bobble close-up:

 

And then Jessie asked to be included in the photos.

 

Pity I can’t teach her to crochet, then she could earn her keep.

To be continued…

8 thoughts on “CAL with Rachel, squares #1 #2 #3 #4

  1. Patch

    Wow! I’m impressed. They look great, especially #4. I’ve never done bobbles either, it’s going to be a great learning curve this CAL… If I ever get started!

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

