Lunch at Lyra’s

It was Karen’s birthday yesterday, so we picked Lyra’s in Rondebosch for lunch to celebrate. I landed a good forty five minutes earlier than Jane and Karen, so I got to fit in an extra cappuccino and a read of the Cape Times.

I specially asked for a take-away cup because I like the size – those stupid white cups and saucers have never done it for me and, despite what people say, size really does count with some things.

I don’t think Freddie and Dr Phil are just waiters, I think they actually run the place!

Lyra’s used to be a different restaurant which also had great food and a similar vibe, but the revamp is a vast improvement.  The menu is really comprehensive  and caters for all tastes and pockets.  (Rondebosch has a large student population, for those of you who don’t know it.) (Also a lot of OAPs, now that I think of it.)  The outside section is tented and those funny wires you see on the roof are lights that flash like glow-worms on steroids at night.  Being “outside” also means that there are ashtrays on the tables.  Works for me.

Between us we had: 4 (big) cappuccinos and three deluxe sarmie delights (roast beef, roast veggies, and bacon), which were accompanied by the best and no doubt the most unhealthful french fries I have ever known.  Next time I’m going to order just those.  I was so excited with my food that I forgot to take a photo.  Before we added a 15% service tip (because we had such excellent service!), the bill came to R206.  Amazing value!!

It’s hard to know what to give to friends for their birthdays sometimes, especially now that we are all at that middle-aged stage of life where we already have pretty much everything we need.  But I knew Karen didn’t have a moonflower – so that is what she got!

I added a few buttons this time, which I think worked well. She says she loves it, but the proof of that will really only be evident the next time I go to her house.  If it’s not hanging up somewhere, I’ll know I should have given her a couple of lacy thongs instead.

To be continued…

13 thoughts on “Lunch at Lyra’s

  1. Maryanne

    Jill, you are so funny, I just love reading your posts!! R206!!! W.H.A.T??? I can’t wait for a visit. Loooooove the moonflower, I have no doubt you will find it hanging in prime position. Oh yes, and I think paper cups are not stupid :)

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      It’s a really great place, and so nice to go somewhere these days where you don’t feel like you are being completely ripped off. There are few places in Cape Town that are unpretentious and well-priced, so often we get to feel that if we aren’t paying in euros, might as well have stayed home! haha

      Reply
  2. tgonzales

    Oh Jill you are so funny! I especially loved the comment about size and about the moonflower better be hanging somewhere in Karen’s house. HAHAHAHAHAHA! Thanks for sharing your evening out with your friends.

    Hugs,
    Tamara

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

