Drink up – I need the empty bottles!

I really like GoCrochet‘s idea of letting things evolve. Last night I realised that it’s working for me too.

As you know, I’m fixated on lampshades. I have been crocheting onto the wire frames that Zenzo made for me a few weeks ago, and when they are displayed at our markets everyone says, Wow, how pretty, what a stunning idea blah blah blah. But that’s where it ends — no-one has ever bought one of these girls.

The last time we were at Kirstenbosch, I had grabbed two empty bottles (vodka and wine, I think) to take with to use as props to display the shades. Lolling around nibbling on her fudge, Anne comments, They look quite nice on the bottles actually. Rob says, Yes they do, and I think people would prefer to buy the whole thing rather than just a shade that they may not have a base for. Anne replies, Rob’s right. Now pass me the rest of the fudge.

From there, we got to here:

Rob has turned into a Very Clever Electrical person and also invested in a diamond drill bit, so now he can turn these amazing liqueur bottles into functional items. I add the shade and some beads for an arty-farty gypsy look (?), and voila – upcycling and repurposing and crochet and handmade and beads and glitz and baroque ALL ROLLED INTO ONE. I feel like all my birthdays have come at once. (And I always knew Rob wasn’t just a pretty face…)

Apologies for the lousy photos, I took these quite late last night in a state of enthusiasm and happiness that outweighed the need to take a bit of care with styling.  Yes, that is an old avocado box in the background.

Tomorrow Jam Tarts is at the River Club Boutique Market in Observatory, where I hope to have a few more of these to show off.

To be continued…

15 thoughts on “Drink up – I need the empty bottles!

  1. tgonzales

    Jill,

    As always you have done it again; inspired me! What a wonderful idea for the use of empty bottles. Good luck at the market and hope you sell all your fantastic bottle, bead, crocheted lamps.

    Love and Hugs,
    Tamara

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

