Patrick Swayze and lemon meringue icecream

Yip, my two old stand-bys – Dirty Dancing, and a very decadent dessert. They’ll get me through the next couple of days.

Here’s the recipe for the ice-cream. It’s so easy even I can’t screw it up, and the people rave about it. Rave, I tell you.

lemons

You need
1 tin of condensed milk
1 tablespoon grated lemon rind (I think the fancy chaps call it zest?)
The juice of 4 lemons
375ml cream (the cream here comes in 250ml tubs so I just use 2 of those. My maths was never very good)
2 cups crushed meringues (you can substitute lemon wafer biscuits if you can’t get your hands on meringues)

You do
Mix the condensed milk with the rind and the juice.
Whip the cream until it’s stiff then fold it into the condensed milk.
Fold in the meringues or wafers.
Freeze.

I don’t know what the minimum time is for freezing, I usually make mine the day before I need it so it gets lots of time to freeze. I need a batch for tomorrow (lunch at Anne’s house) and another batch for Wednesday (braai at friends of Rob). And I’m making chocolate liqueur mousse for tomorrow as well. Come January, this fatty boom-boom will be knocking on that Weigh-Less door again.

Hope you all have a lovely festive time, sun or snow.

To be continued…

19 thoughts on “Patrick Swayze and lemon meringue icecream

  1. tgonzales

    Hi Jill!

    You sure know how to make a mouth start watering. I wish I could be there to give you a hug and taste your lemony ice cream. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I will be making the whole turkey dinner thingy for the 5 or 6 of us. My little granddaughter is the main reason that I still have a little Christmas cheer left in me. :) But not enough to put up a tree. LOL

    Love and Hugs,
    Tamara

    Reply
  2. Patch

    Sounds very yummy, can you remind me of it when it’s summer here?? Chocolate Liquer Mousse sounds great too! I am doing chocolate fondue tonight, it’s become a recent Christmas Eve tradition here (since small boys!), and I have an orange sherry trifle (boring but we love it!) half done for tomorrow too. Enjoy Patrick Swayze ;)

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      I ADORE trifle. Never had one with orange sherry before, maybe you’ll type it up for me sometime? Choc fondue sounds lovely – you do with marshmallows, right? I guess if you drop your mallow, it just gets better as it oozes its way round the bottom of the pot… :-)

      Reply
  3. Lisa

    Your lemon meringue ice-cream sounds delicious and just the right thing for a sunny Christmas Day! I’m sure my three growing trolls, sorry boys, would love that. Unfortunately for them they only have caramel/peppermint crisp dessert to look forward to…Have a great Christmas!
    The Grinch (sort of)

    Reply
  4. Gail

    Your ice cream sounds so delicious, thanks for sharing the recipe. I’ve successfully managed not to have to cook at all tomorrow, making the starter with good old Woolies prawns, smoked salmon and avo. Hope you have a wonderful lunch with Anne and family. Love and hugs to all of you.

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

