Working the street again

If there is an award for junk empress of the year, I believe I would definitely qualify to enter.

Last week Rob and I went to our favourite sushi place in Obs, on the way passing a stack of clean, freshly-cut pieces of melamine propped against a lamp post. As I lunged joyfully forwards, Rob suggested that I leave them for the trip back to the car after we’d eaten. (Actually, his words were “For God’s sake, Jill, drop them!”) Reluctantly I agreed. In hindsight, I never should have listened to him (and never will again) because some thieving no-good villain had nicked them while I was california-rolling. I have learnt my lesson. Never put sushi before junk.

In this context, I was more than gratified to stumble across – the very next day – on the pavement in Salt River:

100_6434

Yip, that’s right – an old busted breadbin and a bit of wooden shelf. Hoo ha! They are now clean and awaiting some primer and some ivory paint so I can use them for my market display.

As I scrabbled excitedly amongst the pile of junk on the pavement, hoping for more treasure, Rob stood watching in horror. His only comment this time: “Thank God my parents can’t see this.”

Moving on.
I’ve managed to potter around a bit with some crochet and some papier maché and even some “gardening” in the last day or two, so I feel like my brain is no longer doing this…

my mind

…and there’s a good chance I’ll soon be back to normal.

To be continued…

13 thoughts on “Working the street again

  1. Gail

    Looking forward to the pics of the resurrected bread bin and shelf. You are an amazing ‘treasure spotter’. Enjoy last hours of 2012 and may 2013 bring you pavements full of treasure together with customers to purchase the treasures’ re-incarnation.

    Reply
  2. Pam

    You are hereby crowned The Duchess of Dumpster Diving :-)
    As far as putting sushi before junk….I respectfully disagree :-)

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      good score! I have a laundry hamper thing that I found next to the bins at the complex I live in. The fabric had torn a bit but otherwise it was perfect. I figured I’d mend it then I’d be able to throw out the yucky old yellow plastic basket that I’d managed to seize by accident from my ex-husband – but it’s still torn and I still use it. ha

      Reply
  3. tgonzales

    Oh my gosh Jill!

    You make me laugh and I know exactly how you feel (great minds think alike) and John is the same way as Rob. He just looks at me and says, “what do you think you’re going to do with that?” Thanks so much for sharing your stories and look forward to more in the upcoming year.

    Love and Hugs from your Junk Sister,
    Tamara

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

