Shoulder wrap thingie

Here is an example of what happens when an idea crosses my mind and loiters around for a bit…and I start making something without thinking about the end result.

I was trying to come up with a shrug-type garment, crocheted in one piece, and where I could use a whole lot of different yarns together. I did a bit of sketching but didn’t get very far, then I did a bit of measuring of existing shrugs and also didn’t get very far, so then I just started. After a couple of rows, I’d already changed my mind about the end product and had a vague memory of something else that might work better:

100_6571

I love this idea. I don’t know why I haven’t made it already. The pattern comes from a UK magazine called Bits and Pieces (no designer name listed).  I thought perhaps the Thing That Doesn’t Know What It Is could become one of those.  As I was weaving the ends in, I decided it wouldn’t look right either – so eventually I just stuck a pin in the front and christened it Shoulder Wrap Thingie.

100_6575 100_6573

Bit odd, but I like the colours. When I was expressing my doubts about it during the photo shoot, Alex said, “I think it’s lovely and it would be perfect for a creative, middle-aged person.” Right.

[Note to self: stick to other people’s patterns in future.]

To be continued…

26 thoughts on “Shoulder wrap thingie

  1. tgonzales

    Hi Jill!

    I must be a creative, middle-aged person because I love it. But you know what’s even funnier? It sure does look great on your young daughters shoulders. Love your creativeness and your fun designer mind.

    Love and Hugs,
    Tamara

    Reply
  2. Patch

    I love it too. (Sadly also creative and middle aged! ) Great colours and textures. It’s quite retro so I can imagine younger people wearing it if that’s their look.

    Reply
  3. Gail

    I also love it and as you know I am post-middle aged so its appeal is ageless! Hope though that nobody ever makes me the wrap thingie in the pattern picture because the dangling bits would tickle my arms all the time.

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

