tin can lid coaster and doily lamp

I was so inspired by Janette’s coasters and bowl (The Green Dragonfly) the other day that I had to try one myself:

100_6586

I used Vinni’s DK Nikkim (cotton) and a 3.5mm hook. It’s turned out slightly bigger than I wanted so the next one will be with a 3.00 mm hook. I wanted to try an idea that I came up with all by myself, thinking about garbage and trash all the time like I do, and a smaller coaster would obviously work better. I did it anyway!

Glue a piece of felt or soft fabric to one side of a tin can lid. The can opener I use makes a pretty smooth edge on the tin but there might still be a bit of sharp here and there, so that’s the side I stuck the fabric on.

100_6589

When it’s dry, trim the fabric so it makes a neat circle. Smear some glue over the other side of the lid and press the coaster onto it (wrong side down).  I put the bottle of glue on top of the coaster so it would dry nice and flat:

100_6590

100_6592

If I was going to make these to sell them, I would make sure my fabric side was perfect and that no tin showed round the edges (ie. when you look at it sideways). But for my own coffee mug, I’m happy with it just as it is.

100_6602

Apart from coasters, I also have doilies on the brain. Jam Tarts is going to be at the Doilie Market in Durbanville this Saturday,  and I’ve been up to lots of repurposing with vintage doilies to give them a new lease of life.

100_6600

This is my new bedside lamp: a doilie draped (permanently!) over a wire frame and the stand made from a liqueur bottle (cabled up by Rob wearing his electrician’s hat), painted white, then coated with modge and white tissue paper. I got the idea for that here.

Better go tidy the kitchen now. You can imagine what a mess it’s in.

To be continued…

16 thoughts on “tin can lid coaster and doily lamp

  1. rainbowjunkiecorner

    My tin lids get recycled with the tins and are the sort that have sharp edges all round. But there might be something else I could use. Must remember this when I get round to making some coasters. It’s on my list. :-)

    Reply
  2. Gail

    Jill, you have such lovely creative ideas buzzing around in your head – thanks for sharing them. Thanks also for the link to the Green Dragonfly, she has wonderful ideas . Hope Doilie market is successful. xxx

    Reply
  3. tgonzales

    Hi Jill!

    Thanks for sharing all the cool things you are making. My favorite is the recycled tin can lid coaster. What a great idea; since I could never think of what to do with those tin can lids when I made the can cozies. I might have to add these to my stash of fun goodies to sell at the October market.

    Love and Hugs,
    Tamara

    Reply
  4. Janette

    Hey that’s a great idea! Really useful if the mug is hot- or the table extra precious. I wonder if you could also use something like a plastic milk bottle (cut a cirlce from the plastic) might be a bit lighter weight?

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

