my big fat granny bag

As soon as I saw the bag that this clever Sandra person made (see her blog here), I knew I wouldn’t rest until I’d made one myself.

100_6811fb

It’s a great bag to make because (a) it’s basically one very large granny square so it’s dead easy, (b) you can use left-over wool and any colours you like, and (c) it’s hard to mess up with something eccentric like this.

100_6816

The original pattern is free on ravelry, and you’ll see other people have posted pics of their bags, all in different colours. I didn’t want to add bits of lace and flowers because I think the colours are vibrant enough, although I did take the liberty of adding a button on either side.

Now all it needs is handles. I really don’t fancy those round plastic ones, so I suppose there’s nothing for it but to try and make something myself. (casting my eyes round spare room filled with various craft and junk stuff as I type)

To be continued…

42 thoughts on “my big fat granny bag

  1. tgonzales

    Ok Jill, now I have to make one of these. Oh how I love the idea of one large granny square. I thought the same thing about the handles; I know I have something lying around here that would work but I’m not sure what yet. Now to find just the right yarn in my stash to use. Thanks so much for inspiring me. :) Hugs, Tamara

    Reply
  2. Gail

    Stunning bag, Jill. I wish you wonderful days out with your bag and may it be continuously filled with desirable goodies. xxx

    Reply
    1. rainbowjunkiecorner

      I can’t find the pattern on Ravelry but then Ravelry doesn’t seem to working properly for me these days. But your top picture is so clear, I’ve made a copy and I expect I can work out the pattern when I am ready.

      Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      I’m not surprised, it’s very appealing – especially to a crocheter! I take no credit for the clever idea, and while I was making it I still kept wondering how exactly it was going to come together like “in the picture”. :)

      Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      it IS easy! And i take no credit for it. Can’t enter it this month, it is still handle-less. and I am away from home until 2 March, so will have to carry it over for your next challenge :-)

      Reply
      1. Maryanne

        Oooooh how fab for you. So happy to hear that you are taking some time out – chicken soup for the soul. I can’t wait to see what your break produces in terms of crochet. xxxx

  3. Olivia

    Oh I love this bag! It’s beautiful! I don’t just want one, I NEED one haha
    Your blog is amazing, thanks for stopping by my blog Xx

    Reply
  4. Pingback: A beautiful bag | Rainbow Junkie

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

