Owl cushion give-away

Seems I took a slightly longer break from blogging than anticipated, but I’m happy to be back now.

And back with a GIVE-AWAY –  hoo ha! It seems that this humble blog has 195 followers, and our Jam Tarts facebook page has 165 – so my aim is to increase both to 200. You can help me do this, guys!  

I’ve had owls on the brain lately, and have been working on the idea of an owl cushion. Quite a big one, so it won’t get lost down the side of the couch. And quite a sophisticated bird, as opposed to a fluffy, downy sort of chick.

I’ve ended up with…

100_6854

…Tallulah Tuckwing! She measures 43 by 30cm, has shweshwe wings, and a secret space behind the right one where she keeps a little heart tucked away.

100_6857

So, if you’d like a chance to win her, please do one or all of the following:

1.  If you are already a follower of Nice Piece of Work, please add a comment on this post saying so.

2. If you are not yet a follower but become one, please add a comment on this post saying so.

3. Please consider sharing this post so that I can reach some entirely “fresh” people.  You don’t need to let me know if you do, I will get your name from the site stats.

4. If you have already Liked our Jam Tarts page, please comment on the page saying so (eg., “liked you long time!”)

5. If you are a new Like, add a comment on the page saying so (eg., “so excited to discover you!”) (heh)

Names will be drawn out of a hat on 13 March!

71 thoughts on “Owl cushion give-away

  1. MadeByYoursTruly

    Great minds think alike!! I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – You can’t have too many owls in your home :)
    I follow you (have done for yonks), I liked your FB page yonks ago and I will share this post on my most recent owl post too :)

    PICK ME, PICK ME, PICK ME!! :)

    Reply
  2. tgonzales

    JIll,

    I love the owl cushion. United States is probably off limits for the giveaway, right? Love your owl cushion; it would look great sitting along side my crocheted one. :) I’m very glad you are back.

    Love and Hugs,
    Tamara

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      US is not off limits – because I had a brainwave!! Because it’s quite a big owl, when it’s stuffed it weighs nearly 500g, which does cost a whack to post overseas. But I have made a separate inner (because I think 2 layers of fabric over stuffing gives a smoother finish) so Tallulah could always be sent unstuffed, as it were, and then the recipient just has to stuff the owl-shaped inner and pop it inside. Does that make sense? I thought it was a real light bulb moment. hahaha
      I’m glad you’re glad I’m back, thank you. Our holiday was lovely but things kind of fell to pieces after that. I’m picking myself up now, and hearing from you really helps. Love and hugs back xxx

      Reply
      1. tgonzales

        That’s a great idea to send the owl unstuffed. Brilliant!!!! I hope you let us know about your holiday if it’s not too traumatic. Have a great rest of the week. ((((HUGS))))

  3. craftytrog

    Great to see you back Jill, with your adorable owl cushion! I’ve been following you for a wee while, & also ‘liked’ your Jam Tarts page about the same time :) xx

    Reply
  4. Crochet Missy

    Reblogged this on Crochet Missy and commented:
    I have never chosen to reblog a post before, but now it is time. Nice Piece of Work is a wonderful blog to follow. If you are looking for a good crochet/creative blog which is written by a fabulously funny and interesting lady then go and check it out. One of my most favourite blogs that I follow.
    And no, I am not doing this for the free cushion (although it is lovely), just seemed like time.

    Enjoy

    Reply
  5. Maryanne

    You’re back!!! We missed you, how was it?

    Oh how I want to win your gorgeous owl!!! Right, here goes…

    I’m not just a follower, I am a DEDICATED, LOYAL and perhaps YOUR BIGGEST FAN (although lots of competition for that one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)

    Beblog coming up xxx

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work

      Vacation was lovely, thanks. Sedgefield area always perfect for restoring sense of balance. Pity it’s over.
      Thank you for being my fan (and making me laugh out loud), and for beblogging – too kind xxx

      Reply
  6. flutterbyrainbow

    Popping by to say a “hoooo-HOOOO” as said by our resident Cape Eagle OWL :) Love the owl cushion – hoot-hoot!!! :) I have been following for a wee while now and love your blogs :D!!!

    Reply
  7. rowena

    Glad to have you back fro you blog break Jill. I thought my follow link must have broken, and so keen was I to read a new post, I popped by every now and again just to check(!). I like the owl too! Reminds me of the cat my sister made me when I was about 12, and which I still have propped in the corner of my bedroom!

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      That’s so sweet, thank you. I’ve been hibernating since getting back home 6 days ago, in large part due to [minor] dental surgery that ended up causing a great deal of unpleasantness and sleepless nights. Finally starting to come right :-)

      Reply
  8. Gail

    Gorgeous owl with a creative heart. Your’s was my first introduction to blogs and is my absolute favorite. Glad you had good holiday.

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      I think you were, actually – I have followed a few blogs where the follow-link has been lost over time…not sure how that happens, seems to be only with wordpress. I’m pretty sure we’ve been following each other for a while :-)

      Reply
  9. onoodlesstitchcraft

    I think I just became number 200! I have seen your lovely work via Woolhogs. Just my sort of thing. If you pop over to me on WordPress or facebook you will find out what I mean! From one Jill to another! Well done! Owls are the in thing atm!

    Reply
  10. Pingback: An Owl-dorable Giveaway! | hannahackroyd

  11. knitnrun4sanity

    I re-found you through woolhogs (thanks to their re-blog!) I am a new follower (much overdue but I really like to be able to give every blog I follow the time it deserves!), have shared on twitter a couple of times, liked your facebook page…. think that is everything for now. Fingers a re now firmly crossed :)

    Reply
  12. yarnchick40

    How sweet is that heart tucked away :) Nice to see you are back, and I hope you will be able to share some pics of that vacation. Sorry to hear about your dental surgery, but you REALLY need to stop getting into bar fights over the last shot of whiskey! We all need to grow up sometime Jill ;)

    Reply
  13. creatingincanyon

    I found your blog through someones reblog and I am following it now. I really love your little tutorials….and your recipe for lemon meringue iced cream, I need to try it!

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      I don’t usually do recipes (because I hate cooking) but this doesn’t count because it’s icecream. It is indeed totally divine. Hard to stop eating it once you start. Make lots. :-)

      Reply
  14. Pingback: Owl cushion give-away |

  15. thestitchsharer

    Would love to win your own cushion – have been following you a long time. Thanks for commenting on my post “How to increase your blog traffic” – might have to do a give away too very soon. x

    Reply
  16. Pingback: Owl cushion give-away | Sogaspe

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

