some hats

I’m wondering why it took me so long to make a slouchie with Vinni’s amazing cotton! This is my variation on Jennifer Appleby’s lovely pattern for the Hot Cross Slouch (pattern here):

100_6949

Yip, that’s me playing around with my camera and the mirror again….

100_6961

100_6953

100_6955

It wasn’t going too badly until I tried to get a pic of the hat from the back, to show off the flower.  And then, a most professional profile shot:

100_6957  Snigger!

Next hat in progress, in raspberry pink:

100_6962

And finally, on the subject of hats, Doreen showed me a beret she made ages ago, with no pattern of course, just straight out of her head. I have rummaged through books and the internet to find out how to do this vertical raised stitch but I’m not getting very far (probably because I’m inherently impatient).

Luckily Doreen doesn’t live too far away….. (unless any of you out there knows?)

100_6943

Last of all, allow me to draw your attention to the link to my etsy shop in the right sidebar – took me yonks to get that right, and eventually I had to enlist the help of Ellen M in her Crafty Corner. Thank you so much for taking the time to explain that to me, Ellen, you are now my crochet and wordpress tech guru!

Hope you all have an excellent weekend. Back soon x

 

 

23 thoughts on “some hats

  1. tgonzales

    Jill,

    I love the hat and the pictures of you. I know exactly what you mean about how hard it is to take a good photo of the back of your head. Too funny! I can’t wait to hear how you do that raised stitch on your hat. Maybe it’s a front post double crochet? Hope you have a wonderful weekend.

    Love, Tamara

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      I’ve just this second got back from Doreen’s, where she gave me a quick tutorial on that stitch. I don’t know what to call it – it’s like a front post tr x2 but on the surface only…! I’m sure someone else would know its common name. I’ll see if I can describe it properly, or take pix. x

      Reply
      1. tgonzales

        Oh Jill, I’m so glad that you found out from your friend how to make that stitch and I can’t wait to see how you accomplish it in a tutorial or pictures are good too. :)

    1. Nice piece of work

      How did you know that? It’s not exactly that but similar – I think I was clueless because I’ve never done any stitches just on the posts before. It’s 2 tr tog around the whole post (not just the loop).

      Reply
  2. Tammy Algiere

    I believe the rasied stitchees are front post double crochets. Hope this helps. I love your blog!:-)

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work

      Tammy, you are right. I’ve never made anything using post stitches before, so I was pretty stymied. Doreen actually does a double dc (or what to me is a tr) to make it stand out more, and she uses them in all sorts of things. Thank you for commenting, nice to meet you :-)

      Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

