even the longest journey…

…starts with a single step.

Confucious? Neil Armstrong? One of the chaps who worked on the pyramids? I don’t know who said it first, but I think it’s helpful to keep repeating it to myself as a kind of self-encouraging mantra as I face the mountain of mess that is currently my home. I decided to start in the kitchen. Just one corner of it, actually. Didn’t want to freak myself out too much right at the outset.

This corner is where I have been chucking some of my mosaic stuff – tools, mirror, glass, tiles, beads, etc. It got to be like this :

100_7180

but now it looks like this:

100_7278

One crate has tins and glass jars for recycling (either by me or Oasis, we’ll see) and the other has pretty much all the mosaic stuff stacked inside. I have nothing against black plastic crates but, as I stood admiring my effort, some other crap  stuff jumped out at me from a different corner and before I knew it, one crate got flowered.

Well, at least I’ve taken the first of what will be many many steps.  (They don’t all have to be in the same week, right?)

Back soon x

23 thoughts on “even the longest journey…

  1. tgonzales

    Hi Jill!

    I know exactly what you mean when it comes to crafting. Your little corner of your kitchen has nothing on my whole craft room. In every corner and every inch you look it’s overflowing with something. You go girl! And maybe I’ll get inspired to take care of one corner of my craft room. OR maybe not because as you know I do have to have time to crochet and that does cut down on my crochet time. :) By the way I love the flower embellishments on the black crate and who knows maybe you will want to yarn bomb the other one?!? Just saying.

    Love and Hugs, Tamara

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      to tell you the truth, I have gotten so untidy and disorganised that it actually SLOWS ME DOWN when it comes to finding what I’m looking for. I figured, time spend tidying now will be time saved in the future!

      Reply
      1. tgonzales

        As usual you are right (hanging my head). It takes me twice as long to find something too. Maybe if you continue to organize your space maybe I’ll be inspired to do mine as well. :) Thanks so much for sharing your world with me. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  2. Carina

    I started arranging papers in piles rather than filing them … BUT: If you can take care of “messy corners” – maybe I can do it too :) Thanks for posting determination.

    Reply
  3. rowena

    Well done. I hate tidying – the only way I can make myself start is by promising that I only have to do an hour, and after an hour I can stop no matter what stage I’ve reached. ….

    Reply
  4. Patch

    You are sooooo right. And well done for your first step. Have you heard of Flylady?? Well, she would definitely agree with you. You have to watch those corners because too many of them can take over the room (and I should know – got a room just like it…. but it is in the attic)!
    Loving the flowery touch.

    Reply
  5. Gail

    Jill please put me top of your list when you are ready to take on the world! My fabrics have invaded almost my entire house especially a couch in the lounge that is metres deep in fabrics covered with sarongs and shawls so the cats don’t get to sleep directly on the fabrics.

    Reply
  6. now at home mom

    Jill, you are right, you don’t need to clean up everything right away! you should see my entrance; I cleaned up last week but then I took all my flip-flops and high heels out so the mess is back & I don’t feel like cleaning it up again! glad no one visits, it would scared them off as soon as they would see my entrance :-) continue your good work!

    Reply
  7. yarnchick40

    Crafty gremlins keep leaving all my stuff strewn about too! The tidying up just feeds my OCD nature enough till I can start counting stitches again…

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

