hear hear

I spend a lot more time crocheting these days than I ever used to. You got that already, I know. But think about this – do I want to have only my own thoughts to entertain me while my hands work? I don’t THINK so. I’m a terrible conversationist and I’d bore me in no time. DVDs – yes, now and then, but I’m not a big tv watcher and I get tired of images coming at me from a screen for too long.

Enter Andy the Android.
100_7330

Andy was an unwanted gift to Rob from someone (who doesn’t read this blog, by the way) and now he is mine. Rob introduced me to audible.com and now I have some Hiaasen, some Deaver, some Palin, and some Bill Bryson to keep me company while I beaver away. A great technological stride for me, that is! Today’s beavering so far has been spent on the flowers in the photo, another ten to hang on the silver tree in a little girl’s bedroom.

Back soon x

30 thoughts on “hear hear

    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      Skinny Dip was my first Hiaasen. A friend gave it to me while I was recovering from surgery – bad choice because I nearly popped my stitches from laughing. On Andy I have Native Tongue, but also some Brookmyre I’m looking forward to – if you like Hiaasen, you’ll like him, too.

      Reply
  1. Patch

    Pretty flowers. Mr P watches tv and I listen rather than watch. It works fine until its something with subtitles or no dialogue! I used to listen to radio 4 when I was sewing… serialised books etc. on there. Maybe I need and Andy too.

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      But you have an ipad, Trish? You can download from audible.com with that. I don’t think Andy is very ‘advanced’, he has relatively limited capabilities, but I hated the digital voice on the kindle. Plus he was free :-)

      Reply
  2. tgonzales

    Jill!

    I’m so glad that you now have a man and the great benefit of Andy is you only have to listen to what you have him read to you. :) By the way I bet you know that I love all those cute little flowers, right? Have a great week!

    Love and Hugs, Tamara

    Reply
  3. gentlestitches

    a friend of mine just acquired “Marvin” the android and she is delighted with him. I love listening to books on my htc phone and love the idea I can work and read a book at the same time. Loved the comment about “I need a man” and Andy arrives. :)

    Reply
  4. Linne

    Yup, be careful what you ask for :-)
    Love those flowers! Makes me want to go buy more wool . . . the suitable skeins in my huge stash already have been designated for other things . . . I haven’t tried to use my iPhone for reading to me; will think about that. ~ Linne

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      Make some flowers, Linne. By the time you work your way through your stash, you’ll have forgotten what the original projects were that you had in mind :-)
      I started off with books on cd from the library, which worked fine although the selection was limited and my cd player is huge and cumbersome. Andy is so sleek and cute. Plus, as I said, he was free. :-)

      Reply
  5. Pingback: May Made It – Ten more tantalising entries! | woolhogs

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

