tote-ally trendy

Meet Nathan.
nathan
Meet Nathan’s new tote.
tote 1
They haven’t actually met each other yet because I just finished sewing the tote about 15 minutes ago, but I’ve What’s Apped him and I think he’ll be here any second now.
It’s the trendiest locally-designed fabric my dorky little home has seen for years, and Nathan scored himself two packs of off-cuts from Design Team in the Cape Quarter. So I made this for him.
100_7336
This is as close as I’ll ever get to patchwork – although I do truly admire what other people do with it (quilts, etc), I’ve personally never seen the point of chopping up perfectly good pieces of material then reassembling them but, hey, maybe it’s just me.

I hope he likes it. I hope he doesn’t…

Back soon x

31 thoughts on “tote-ally trendy

  1. rowena

    I’ll tell you one day about my marathon patchworking efforts….I used to enjoy the precision of it, but I can’t imagine taking the time to do it now. The tote’s looking good, but maybe he won’t like it(!)

    Reply
      1. rowena

        Hmmm. That will be a composition I will need to think about , but I’ve still got the quilt so will photograph it for you!

      2. rowena

        That’s some memory you’ve got there! I’m embarrassed to admit that there has been no progress on the cardigan, but you may shame me into a completion programme….

  2. Gail

    Very nice, Jill. Nathan will have to guard his tote because his friends will want to snatch it off his shoulder its so lovely.

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work

      Well, i received the fabric in 22cm sq pieces, so I figured cutting each one into 4 didn’t actually count as patchwork. It was okay doing it, but I’ll stick with crochet for the time being. :-)

      Reply
  3. Pingback: May Made It – The last few entries….or are they? | woolhogs

  4. tgonzales

    Jill,

    I love that bag and I bet Nathan loved it too. How could he not? I’m with you on the cutting up of perfectly good pieces of fabric and then sewing them all back together. Although I do love to look at, admire, and have quilts I just don’t want to make them. Thanks for sharing your wonderful patchwork bag with all of us.

    Love and Hugs, Tamara

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

