Thursday this and that

Today’s been one of those days where I’ve been sort of busy-ish but feel like nothing really got done – so I’m trying to put that right, even though it’s getting late now and I’d prefer to be inching towards my bed and book and hottie.

I did manage to finish off the third headband which I’m thinking of using for kits.

headband 004

None of them look good on Carol, she’s got too much skin (yes, Trish, I agree), so I’ll have to try and chisel Alex out of bed 5 minutes earlier than usual tomorrow morning for some better photos.  I referred to my trusty old copy of the Knitting and Crochet Dictionary, and tried out the palm leaves stitch and the large granite stitch and think they both worked well.  I’ve often used palm leaves for blankets, and in fact I’d started another one waaaaay back at the beginning of last year before I jumped on Rachel’s CAL wagon and then got sidetracked by a thousand other things… In fact, where the hell is it, now that I think about it?

Anyway. I liked the way Mountain Mama had two rows of chain at the back of the band to hold it behind your head, so I adapted that idea for the purple one.  The lime one goes right round your head (no chain rows) so it’s quite nice and snug, and the yellow and grey one got a flower with a button.  I was reliably informed by the resident Style Police that I was wearing the headband “all wrong” in yesterday’s pic, by the way.  I fired eloquently right back:  “ag, whatever“.

headband   red mitts 001

I also managed to put together a very basic draft of a newsletter for Jam Tarts, which I’ve been meaning to do for over a year (!). It’s sitting in MailChimp ready and waiting for me to hit Send…and I have a whole three email addresses in the list of recipients – haha (one is Rob’s and one is my mother’s, so I don’t think they even count).  Anyone out there who’d like to get a Jam Tarts newsletter once or twice a month? Super short and sweet, I promise (just one pic of my hands in red mitts – please note I painted my nails specially).

Right, I think I can justify going to bed now. Night, all.

18 thoughts on “Thursday this and that

  1. Gail

    Jill, I hope you added my email address to your newsletter group without waiting for me to ask you to do so! Love to get your newsletter. xxx

    Reply
  2. tgonzales

    Oh Jill!

    I love, love, love the headbands and your mitts. I would also love to be on your mailing list to receive your newsletters. :) Thanks so much for sharing you!!!!

    Love, Tamara

    Reply
  3. Map of Time

    Yeppers. Please add my address to your newsletter, as well. It has to be a lot more entertaining then that all that blasted spam I’ve been getting. ;) jgburdette [at] ymail dot com Thanks, Jill!

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

