amazing opportunity

Oh.My.Gosh.  I am beside myself with excitement today!!!

24 places at the Red Shed Craft Market at the V&A Waterfront have been made available to craft producers who belong to the Cape Craft and Design Institute (4 “shops” per month over the next 6 months).  I was shortlisted last week and had my interview on Friday with 38 other hopefuls.  AND THEY PHONED ME THIS MORNING TO TELL ME I’VE BEEN SELECTED….

waterfront

For those of you who don’t know Cape Town, the V&A Waterfront is South Africa’s biggest tourist venue; shops pay ginormous rents to be there, and they guarantee almost constant traffic from 09h00 to 21h00 seven days a week.

The other crafters selected include ceramicists, painters, fibre artists, knitters, weavers, woodworkers, beaders and sculptors. I don’t know much more at this stage, except that I have asked to be accommodated after Christmas (otherwise won’t manage to make all the stock for the season’s markets) and that it won’t cost me anything. Please read that last bit again, and then you really will realise how much this means to someone like me working alone and on a small scale.   Wow, this feels like such an honour.

To be continued…

 

 

38 thoughts on “amazing opportunity

  1. tgonzales

    You are so right; OH MY GOSH!!!! Congratulations on being chosen. My jaw dropped to the floor when I read the part that “it won’t cost anything”. Love and Hugs! Tamara :)

    Reply
  2. vardi

    jill that’s fantastic!!!! – well done! look forward to seeing you there – and everywhere else now that summer is on its way!!!x

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

