I’m just a girl who can’t say No…

Okay, I’ll admit it, I have definitely overbooked myself: I have eight markets between now and Christmas, one of which extends over three weeks, and that isn’t including the one-month stint at the Waterfront (I have been given November, no swapping allowed). While I’m thinking there won’t be much room for blogging, at the same time blogging helps me to focus on one thing at a time. Also, very luckily, I have a wonderful support network – Alex, Rob, Anne, Doreen, Karen…

For the Cape Gift Market in Sea Point, I have undertaken to make 30 owl cushions and 30 cat cushions. The owl design is sorted but I’m still working on the cat. This is what I’ve come up with so far:

cat cushion 1  cat 2

I want it to be similar in style to the owl, but couldn’t figure out how to work any shweshwe fabric in. I tried it on the ears but it didn’t look right. Paws, maybe? I tried a nose as well, also didn’t work. I like a streamlined look, not fussy, and not cute.  Comments are welcome, especially constructive ones :-)

And just to illustrate my natural ability to prioritise things, I have just agreed to make 6 pairs of mitts for the UK family of a friend who is going over for Christmas.

Beautiful spring day in Cape Town today, I’m off to run some errands – maybe I can get in a bit of crocheting when the traffic lights are red hahahahaha

Back soon x

18 thoughts on “I’m just a girl who can’t say No…

  1. mollieandclaire

    I think it’s lovely. I like stylised designs. I wonder if you set the eyes slightly less on the slant? It’s a flat medium so you can probably get away with not being true to life. But that’s a small point, overall it’s fab. Live the colour too.

    Reply
  2. Patch

    Hmmmm, maybe a patch for his tum?? I would get googling cat cushions for inspiration. My instincts are telling me he needs to be taller, more rectangular and less square…. But I guess that would make him less like the owl…. Thinking….

    Reply
  3. tgonzales

    Hi Jill!

    I love your cat pillow; but I love everything that you do. The only thing that you might add to your cat is a little pink nose. Good luck on all your markets and be careful when you crochet and drive. ;)

    Love and Hugs, Tamara

    Reply
  4. Maryanne

    Woah you are one brave and incredibly talented lady!!! I have no doubt that you won’t be a total superstar at every bit of it!!! Silly question, but have you considered making the entire cat cushion from shweshwe?? P.s I like the slanty eyes, just saying x

    Reply
  5. Kathryn Rubidoux

    You could make it from the patterned fabric and then float the face on a plain oval or circle so the features stand out. Another idea would be to make the whiskers from the patterned fabric, using broader strips.

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      hmmmmm…[thinks] …. everyone has given me something to think about, which is great. Thank you. I had been thinking about a slightly patterned or textured fabric today, and Maryanne suggested shweshwe, but I hadn’t thought about floating the face. I’m liking it….

      Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      could be…i need to think about the cat properly this weekend. Thanks! and thank you for my wonderful fox, he arrived yesterday. So far he’s propped on a shelf, but he’ll get a proper frame one of these days. Such a happy, cosy picture :-) I love it. Jill x

      Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

