time trial

Yesterday Melissa at vuchickens asked how long it takes me to make a newsboy. I didn’t know then, but I do now.

I made this last night, using two strands of dk acrylic and a 5.00mm hook. The pattern is the one I always use (newsboy pattern), and I did it in the smallest size of the three given. I made sure to begin just as my favourite soapie was starting so I would be less distracted.

carol newsboy

It’s a bit tight on me but it fits Carol perfectly.

Excluding the time I spent weaving in the ends and sewing on a button, it took me 65 minutes. I was quite impressed with myself.  I estimate that the medium and large sizes would take about 10 to 15 minutes longer.  (I’d like to point out that I don’t usually try and work so fast, I prefer to get into the rythym of crocheting and enjoy the sense of calm it brings — I had to hose down the hook afterwards, it was smouldering!!!)

Back soon x

14 thoughts on “time trial

  1. rainbowjunkiecorner

    I must say I tend to work at a ‘comfortable’ speed rather than fast at knitting or crochet. I have seen some people who can knit several times as fast as I can. Sounds as if you can crochet faster too.

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      I am a ridiculously slow knitter, although it doesn’t stop me from knitting. And I wouldn’t win any crochet races, that’s for sure. Anne’s mom crochets so fast the hook is just a blur.

      Reply
  2. gentlestitches

    HaHa! This is the time of year my needles and hooks smoke too.
    I decided to do arm tone up exercises and now it hurts to raise my left arm. It hasn’t stopped me though, crocheting up a storm with arm pinned against my waist!!! I have never been good at exercise and have only ever caught a ball on my head! :)

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

