Day One at the Waterfront

What a day. We set up from 7.30am, then I [wo]manned the shop from 9 to 9, with short food/smoke/toilet breaks. Expended more energy in talking than I usually do in two weeks. Met people from Taiwan, Sweden, Holland, Germany, the UK, the USA, Iran, Poland, France, and some new locals. Two shop owners approached me to stock my kits from the end of the month (when I leave). We had four sales. Everyone paid cash.

I love tourists. I love locals. I love crochet. I love cash.

The only tourist I didn’t love very much was, in fact, my first sale of the day. A Middle Eastern doctor in Cape Town for a conference was buying a pair of slippers for his wife, and wanted to bargain with me. He waved his money around like he thought he was a snake charmer or something, but I stood firm. I wanted to say, Listen, dude, this is a professional set-up. I have barcodes and printed labels and everything. Don’t mess with me, but I managed to find polite words and a reasonable tone.

Things I know I will have learned by the end of the month:

1. How to eat without moving my mouth.
2. How to say “Start with a foundation chain” in Swedish, French and German.
3. How to do pelvic floor exercises without getting out of my chair.
4. How to hide cash about my person when I walk to my car in the parking lot at night. My bra was bulging last night, and the coins were particularly uncomfortable.

money

Back soon x

33 thoughts on “Day One at the Waterfront

  1. tgonzales

    Oh Jill! I am so glad that your first day was a success and how exciting that two shop owners want your kits in their shops. I especially love your list of items that you will learn by the end of the month. I’m also glad that you held firm with the doctor. There are always those people who think they have to bargain. I can’t wait to hear about the rest of your days. Love you, Tamara

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      :-) Glamorous? I’m rolling on the floor…. yeah, not so much of that. I had my own shop for seven years, I still remember some of the high/low lights of working directly with strangers. :-)

      Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      YES, a bum bag – brilliant!!!! And I’m not very shapely in that area anyway, so an extra layer or two should go unnoticed. (If I carry the heavy part at the front, would it then be a Tum Bag?) :-)

      Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      Yes, a whole month. The space is shared by 3 different “craft producers”, as they call us, so we can share out the time, but of the 3 of us I’m the only one who can carry my work with me, which is a huge advantage. All I need is a hook and some cotton! It brings people in, when they see me sitting comfortably hooking away — plus I’m taking notes about The Things People Say. It’s better entertainment than Fawlty Towers. :-)

      Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      Jennifer, my bra is far from empty to begin with! I’m going to go with MollieandClare’s suggestion (see above) in future. Will see if I can knock something up on my sewing machine just now… :-)

      Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

