cunning pompom technique

**This post is dedicated to my friend, M_______ L____, in Californ-ee-ay-a, without whom there wouldn’t be any pompoms at all!

So, I am now the proud owner of three different sizes of the Clover pompom maker.  I am extremely happy with them, and they each have names (which I won’t share with you, because it would just confirm what you may only suspect – that I’m a nutcase!).

One thing I wasn’t liking so much was that sometimes it was too easy to pull out a piece of yarn from the finished item, and I certainly didn’t want anyone buying a BonBon with a dodgy pompom. I think I wasn’t tying the yarn tightly enough around the centre, but even when I tied it so tightly that the thread almost snapped, it still bothered me. So now I do this:

When I’ve wrapped the first layer, ie. until you can’t see the plastic on the inner any more, I dot on some Stop Fray.

pompom1 pompom 5

pompom6 pompom7

pompom8

I use the Stop Fray about four times on each side, and also on the very last bit just before closing it up and tying.

pompom10

And because I live where I do, I am able to hang my pompoms in the sun to dry. (Sorry, northern hemispherers….)

I’ve also experimented with craft glue but that didn’t work as well as the Stop Fray. I know there are various fabric-type glues on the market and I once had something called Fray-Stoppa, which was a clear, runny glue, which I think would also have worked well.  Give it a bash with whatever you have lying around, and let me know what works for you.

I haven’t forgotten that I promised to give you the BonBon pattern, I am only halfway through the shocking pink one I’m making and want to finish it first so I can be sure that I’ve understood Eunice’s technique 100%.  Here is the beginning:

BonBon pink

Back soon x

14 thoughts on “cunning pompom technique

  1. lovelucie1

    I found that the best way to tie the pom pom was by using common string. You can pull that really tight without fear of it snapping. You seem to have solved it anyway. Loooove the colour, hung up in your garden.

    Reply
  2. tgonzales

    Now Jill you have outdone yourself again with a great idea. Next time I make a pom pom I am going to try this. I have always wondered if my pom poms stayed together once they left my sight. Thanks so much for sharing and I’m curious about the names of your pom poms too. Love you my friend, Tamara

    Reply
  3. KnitNell

    I love making pompoms but like yourself have been worried by the ease in which the yarn can fall apart. Thank you for the tip, I will give it a go next time I get out my little Clover machine (un-named!)

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

