BonBon update

I attended a fabulous sector meeting about (a) upcycling, and (b) e-commerce at the Cape Craft and Design Institute this afternoon, and worked on the cotton BonBon at the same time. Yip, two hours of uninterrupted crochet. hoo ha.

I have now worked 20.5 cm from the top of the crown and it looks like this:

cotton bonbon 2

And on my head it looks like this:

cotton bonbon 1

I think I’m going to work about another 5cm before starting the brim because I want more of a hang to it at the back. (Hats that hug my head do not suit me. It’s why I can’t ever wear a beanie. I get that whole pinhead look).

It’s weighing in now at 145g, so already it weighs as much as a fully completed acrylic BonBon like the one below.

green bonbon

Please bear this in mind if you’re going to try your hand at one – if you choose cotton over acrylic, you will use more meterage and it will weigh more.

Also, keep trying it on as you go, to make sure it’s taking on the shape you want – you don’t want it taking on too much of a life of its own!!!

10 thoughts on “BonBon update

  1. The Snail of Happiness

    Mine is working up lovely now I’m sure I’m doing it right, although we went out yesterday evening, so it got neglected (only 10cm so far). Thank you so much for the original instructions and this update :)

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      Most people wouldn’t need to, I have to because I have to work out the amount of yarn used for costing purposes, also for working out postage costs (for the ones that get purchased from far away!). It’s actually the only thing I use my digital kitchen scale for — being averse to cooking and recipes and stuff like that :-)

      Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

