a random post

I like Rachel’s idea (10 Random Things) of going for a bit of randomness.  Here’s a selection of pics I’ve taken over the last few days. In no particular order. Of no particular significance. Or no more than anything else that I ever take a photo of, at least.

woman in hat 2

A nice woman who was interested in our stand at the Annual Plant Fair today. I liked her hat and asked her if I could take a pic of it for when I want to experiment with making different styles.

random 1

Going to the Milnerton Market.  Always a bargain to be found, or something you never knew you simply couldn’t live without until you laid eyes on it.

random 2

A rather sweet ensemble, I thought.  She would have kept the sun off her face far more easily with a hat, but the parasol matches her top exactly so I guess she had to use it.

random 3

Our favourite cafe, Puka, in Tamboerskloof; that’s Michael, the owner,  through the window, whipping up another dream smoothie.

random 4

The very first thing I ever crocheted – a baby blanket for Alex, 20 years ago. I guess it served its purpose but, yikes, is it ever ugly! Don’t know what I could possibly have been thinking.

random 5

The car in front of me the other morning, driving down Durban Road, Mowbray. The aFREAKa sticker made me laugh.

random 6

Autumn’s coming, but it’s taking it’s bloody time! Grape vine leaves glow like jewels when the sun streams through. I took this from the veranda of the farm where we stayed for a couple of days last week in Simondium (in the winelands between Paarl and Franschhoek).  It was a lovely, peaceful break.

random 7

Alex roasted a chicken for our supper. It was really good. We ate outside, by candlelight. She seems to prefer eating with her hands, like a monkey.

random 8

Just one more farm pic, because this chap was really handsome.  He and his cousin were in this tree in the courtyard of the Main House, and he didn’t take his eyes off me for one single second… not one. I was very glad that I am bigger than a mouse.

random 9

This man is a builder by trade but his hobby is doing things with pallets.  Slapping on two coats of paint and then smacking your pallet up on a wall is about the most casual type of upcycling intervention of all – and I hope you can see from the photo he’s stuck on the front how great it looks with a few little plant pots in it.  Like me, he likes looking for stuff – one of his favourite places is the rubbish dump off Rosmead Avenue!

random hedgehog

 

Have a wonderful week, everyone :-)

12 thoughts on “a random post

    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      Looking forward to reading it. Am about to package up your hat, by the way, and send it all the way to WAKEFIELD!!! – eee by gum it’s a loooong time since i were up that part o’world… :-)

      Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

