inspired by stinky fish

So, you remember the Stinky Fish hat?  I had hoped someone would fall in love with it at the Somerset West market on Saturday and it certainly got a lot of attention (a lot of smirks and pointing, actually, not sure about the falling in love!!) but it did inspire two requests – one for a rainbow-coloured Stinky Fish hat for a cute little one-year old girl, and one for a sperm whale hat for a cute little 16-year old girl! Jaide lives in London and was on holiday with her mom and brother in Cape Town for a short while. She’s already gone back but her mom is here for another 10 days so, if Jaide likes the pics I’ve mailed her, her sperm whale will be flying over to the UK in the near future.

I looked at these pics:

whale 3 whale 1 whale 2

and this is what came off my hook:

spermy 3 spermy 4 spermy 1 spermy 2

If you stare very hard at it, then quickly close your eyes, I swear you’d think you were under the sea for a few seconds – that’s how realistic it is! hahaha

Incidentally, I worked this one from the brim to the tail, and not the other way round (as with the original Stinky Fish pattern by Catrina Usher).  No particular reason, although I wasn’t sure how I was going to handle the tail so decided to leave it til last :-)

It’s a long weekend for South Africa (Sunday 27th is Freedom Day), so I hope you all have a whale of a time.

18 thoughts on “inspired by stinky fish

  1. gentlestitches

    I had a whale of a time reading your webpage and love the hat!! I have a big market to do next week but gosh I would love to make a stinky fish hat!! I am putting it on my “must make” list! :-D

    Reply
  2. tgonzales

    Hi Jill! You did a wonderful job of depicting a whale. I bet the girl who ordered the hat will be very happy with it. I love your work and you. :) Tamara

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

