Crochet lessons

The seed has been germinating for a while now, but it took a new friend to coax it from under the ground and into the sunshine. I met Susan at the second last Kirstenbosch Craft Market, when she was looking for a hat. While she was trying some on, she asked if I ever gave lessons. I said No (but in a nice way). She tried on more hats and couldn’t decide which one she liked best so I told her to take a stroll around the market wearing the hats (one at a time, obviously) to get a ‘good feel’. [Hats are like jeans, aren’t they? – they’re either absolutely right or completely and totally wrong.]

An hour later she still couldn’t decide, but she was very sweet and pleasant and so by then I found I had managed to string some words together along the lines of “… I really don’t mind giving an individual lesson, if you think you’d like that...”, and next thing I knew we had a proper arrangement.

Susan ended up buying all three hats, and we have now had two lessons.  (Did I forget to mention that she is left-handed? We seem to be finding our way through that little set back!).  I also decided that if I was going to do this at all, I may as well do it properly – so I came up with a four-week lesson plan for beginner crocheters, and advertised it on facebook and with an email newsletter.  Maximum five learners, a two-hour lesson once a week for four weeks, kit for fingerless mitts included, as well as tea and cookies.

for fb page      tea and cookies

The response was really encouraging, and we start Lesson No.1 on Thursday! It turns out that lots of people would like Saturday lessons because of their working week, and I’ve also been approached by a lady in Somerset West who is hoping I can get a group going out in that part of the world. But one step at a time. And maybe a tot of whiskey in that tea :-)

30 thoughts on “Crochet lessons

      1. PigLove

        Snorts. Can you see me wearing them? I’m going to have to leave this lying around for mom to see if she takes the hint – thanks my friend. XOXO – Bacon

  1. Patch

    You will be brilliant at it. I have enjoyed teaching BigLilBro’s girlfriend a couple of times…. Not sure I am brave enough to do a proper class. Have wondered about doing a club in school though.

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      Thanks Joan. I agree with you – in spite of pinterest and fb and blogging, where there is indeed so much inspiration, there’s still nothing quite like real-life other people and working in a group :-)

      Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      Well, I know all the ladies who are starting with me tomorrow, and each of them is really really nice – I’m sure we’ll have a most pleasant lesson every week, but my main concern is that I am able to teach them the best way possible and not actually put them off crochet. heh

      Reply
      1. lovelucie1

        When teaching I’ve always found that masses of chain stitch, then masses of doubles, followed by trebles etc to work on tension is the best way to start. But you’ve probably done this many times before. Have a lovely morning.

  2. katechiconi

    How terribly inconvenient of you to be on the other side of the world! I’d have loved to sign up for your lessons, since my crochet is of the most basic kind… I hope it’s a tremendous success and that you go from strength to strength

    Reply
      1. katechiconi

        Well, I suppose there’s always Skype, but that’d make it tricky handing my work over to you to be fixed when I stuff it up! And tea and bickies don’t travel well by Skype either… Seriously, though, I do wish I could learn to do it properly.

  3. gentlestitches

    I just know it will be a great success! I always served tea and rock cakes at my classes and they were well received. plus I had a jug of water and glasses. Hooray for passing on the skills! <3

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      Not at all, that was truly not what I meant to imply! I meant “difficulty” from my side, not at all from her’s. And guess what – she’s crocheting up a storm now, absolutely perfectly straight-sided rows!!!

      Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

