happy granny

I’ve been hoarding the pattern for Simone’s happy granny (here) for a long time and the other day, when I was looking for something else in an insanely disorganised bookmarks folder, I came across it again.  After a lot of Ellas and penguins, this looked like a perfect no-fuss quick make.

simone pattern

Simone’s hat is for a baby, but I wanted to go big.   I used a chunky Elle Timber and a 5.00mm hook, so ended up with a hat that fits Carol loosely.  I was going to follow the pattern exactly and have the same sort of beanie look but by the time I’d done the two brown rows, I realised that the wearer would have to have an unusually large noggin.  (Rob has quite a big head, actually, but I know he doesn’t like raspberry pink).

eben 1

So I just winged it after that – did 2 rows of grannies with some decreasing, then one row of dcs.  That’s given it a kind of puffy beret look instead.

We’ve had a really sharp and sudden icy spell in Cape Town- it’s much much colder than it usually gets in winter, and it’s started a lot sooner.  There’s even been SNOW on the mountains – we say that here with such genuine amazement as to suggest that the snow, surely, has picked the wrong country?

Back soon x

16 thoughts on “happy granny

  1. Patch

    I like the original pattern and your variation. I really wish I had long hair sometimes because beanies and slouchies look so much better with long hair!

    Reply
  2. tgonzales

    I love that pattern and use it all of the time. I love the way yours turned out too with the chunky yarn. have a great day. Love and Hugs, Tamara

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      It is really nice, I’m going to try it with a less chunky today and see if I can get the size right for a normal head :-) Like mine – not.
      It’s wonderful to read your updates on fb re your mom, and I do watch the video clips starring The Hens. I love them <3

      Reply
  3. katechiconi

    Cute hat, but it’s still too warm here for me to wear one. Although I did get my jeans out for the first time in a year last week, and yesterday I actually put a cardigan on, shock horror. One of these days I may even need a pair of your mittens!

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      That doesn’t sound fair to me – aren’t we supposed to be in the same sort of earthly dimension, just some many miles horizontally apart? There is nothing warm about SA right now! You pulled your jeans out? I slept in mine last night because it was too cold to get undressed for bed – I just put more stuff on on top and crawled under….

      Reply
  4. katechiconi

    I think you’re a bit closer to Antarctica than we are… Definitely south of the Tropic of Capricorn. If you drew a line across Zimbabwe, Mackay’s on the same latitude, roughly. We don’t own a heater for the house, we just put on the odd woolly thing.

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

