fake snake

I love this fabric, I call it Fake Snake! I found it in a funny little shop off Grey Street in Durban many years ago, and purchased it with no specific purpose in mind. (That’s how stashes are born.)  And now that I am hat-mad, here is the first of many:

party snake  party snake 2

Hats are pretty much what I’ve been concentrating on lately, trying to get my “perfect pattern” for different styles and doing lots of sewing in preparation for the spring and summer markets.

I experimented with some shiny velvety stuff last week, and came up with these: the pics don’t really show how gorgeous the purple and brown velvets look in real life. And that exquisite girl in the crimson one? That’s Danny, one of my loveliest and best ever customers from the Edgemead Market. She bought four hats on Saturday, which I have taken as reassurance that I’m on the right track here.

purple 1 purple silk 2 silver 2 brown gold 1 newsboy custom 4 danny crimson newsboy

Think I’m not fitting in any crochet? WRONG!!!!! Just working the last stitches on a big project, hope to show-and-tell soon.

Love to you all, from beautiful Cape Town :-)

11 thoughts on “fake snake

  1. tgonzales

    Oh Jill! Your hats are all beautiful. I especially love the velvet ones, for some reason I have always loved velvet. Danny is beautiful and the hat looks like it fits her personality perfectly. :) Now for your new banner at the top of your blog, wow that is gorgeous as well. Thanks for sharing and can’t wait to see what you’ve been working on in the way of crochet. Love and Hugs, Tamara

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      Thanks, Tamalini, for your kind words always, and just for taking the time to comment :-) The header is a photo of my friend’s daughter’s bed – I made the crochet stripey blanket for her 18th birthday, and her mom (Karen) made the one with squares last year. I love how they look together.
      xxx

      Reply
  2. yarnchick40

    You are a PRO at these hats :) They all look scrumptious and perfect and like so much FUN to wear! I love the idea that stashes are “born” considering we pretty much all tell our loved ones that “oh that old stuff/fabric/yarn/beads? I’ve had them laying around the house for years!”

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

