cheap thrills

I popped into my local charity shop last week, Help the Rural Child (read more here), and came away with a tunic top, a silk animal print blouse and a pair of almost-new black bootlegs, for less than R100. (I think that’s about 8 US dollars? !!!!)

It’s always nice to add a couple of useful things to one’s wardrobe, but I wondered why I was more pleased with my finds than when I get something at Woollies or the Big Blue. I can afford to buy brand new clothes, after all. But then I realised – a large part of the pleasure is that you don’t know if you’ll find something or not at a charity shop. There’s no guarantee you’ll find anything at all, and at the same time there’s the chance that you’ll find ten things that scream your name in your size.

charity top i

I’ve worn the red and blue tunic about four times already, so I’m definitely getting my money’s worth. That’s my idea of a cheap thrill.

17 thoughts on “cheap thrills

  1. tgonzales

    I bet you look smashing in the pink and blue blouse. Now I’m curious what bootlegs are? Did you buy a pair of legs sticking out of boots? I want to see the black bootlegs too, please. :)
    Hugs, Tamara

    Reply
  2. The Little Room of Rachell

    It’s the treasure bunting aspect of it I think. As for me…my latest finds were a 1,000 piece jigsaw for £1:95 that I thought I’d like to try as I haven’t done one as an adult. I am useless at it though! Someone else has nearly completed it. Also a brand new or read extremely carefully novel for 29p. Bargains!

    Reply
  3. millie on her world

    Best part of going to charity/thrift stores is wondering what you will find! I do it quite often actually…on lucky days I can even find brand new things with tags still attached. I adore your tunic, beautiful colors!

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

