introduction to silkscreen printing

I’ve always wanted to try my hand at this, and when I heard through the Cape Craft & Design Institute that Yda Walt ((her website here)) was going to be taking a couple of workshops in Cape Town I signed up immediately. Today was the day.

sp 3 sp 1 sp 2

Here are my first efforts. We started off learning how to make a design with ordinary paper and a blank screen, using standard fabric inks, and then using a photographic image on a prepared screen, and getting used to the difference between normal and opaque inks. I was far too busy to take any photos, but I will next week at the second workshop. Everyone came up with completely different interpretations of a single brief, which always fascinates me. People are generally more creative than they realise!

Yda also showed us how to combine different colours, either in a single layer or in mixed layers – so if you’ll excuse me, I need to go clear my dining table right this second so I can continue experimenting….

11 thoughts on “introduction to silkscreen printing

  1. gentlestitches

    I agree with you about people being more creative than they realize. I know you teach and this is what makes a good teacher. Working with the student to bring out their inner creativity. <3

    Reply
  2. tgonzales

    Jill, you simply amaze me with all the crafts you can do. I especially love the pink thingy. I can’t wait to see what’s next. Love and Hugs, Tamara

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

