Operation Revamp: Day #5

The worst is over: painting and cleaning accomplished, yucky old carpets and other stuff chucked out, decent but unwanted stuff sold on facebook or charitied, pile of stuff from patio back inside (thank you, strong Rob). Still more sorting of yarn and fabric necessary, but that will come later – because tomorrow I am going away for a week. Yes, bad timing, I know (story of my life). I didn’t fully comprehend the extent of the upheaval that Operation Revamp would entail, and I could do with another 1 or 2 days to complete the process. Also, I’ve lost more than 5 production days because of it. BUT I believe in the long run it will have been worth the expense and the effort – I definitely feel more positive about my living and working space, I have a better idea of the stock and materials I have banked up, and all mouse fossils and dust dragons from under the bed have been dealt with.

Here is a corner of my bedroom, the only 1-metre sq spot in the flat worth photographing right now.

pink chair
May not look like much to anyone else, but I’ve made me proud !

I’m going to Johannesburg tomorrow for a week to visit my mom. Karen and I are travelling together by train (her dad lives there, too) and we’re looking forward to a 26-hour journey across our wonderful country, with lots of crochet, music, pedicure tools and books to pass the time.

Back soon x

10 thoughts on “Operation Revamp: Day #5

  1. tgonzales

    Hi Jill. I have loved watching your room in progress. I know you will love it and the organization will make you more productive all around. Thanks for sharing and the inspiration. Have a wonderful and safe trip. Love and Hugs, Tamara

    Reply
  2. yarnchick40

    The little corner looks awesome! You should be proud of your hard work👍🏻
    The trip to Jo-burg sounds great and I can’t wait to see all the stuff you do when you get back.
    Happy Mother’s Day to you and your Mom.
    xox

    Reply
  3. Jane

    Have a lovely trip Jill, and don’t let any strange men into your compartment. Threaten them with your pedicure tools. Please send my love to Dorothee. x

    Reply
  4. Gail

    Well done with your revamp, Jill. You inspired me to have a marathon sort out of my fabrics today. Your bedroom corner looks so inviting. Hope you and Karen have a wonderful journey.

    Reply
  5. kathrynrubidoux

    Oh my gosh, its all looking fabulous! I missed all of this until today; I’ve been busy with getting this place in shape. Its hard work and can feel overwhelming, so kudos to you for tackling it all. It looks like you hired better painters than we did, we hired Streaky and Sloppy, not their real names but very descriptive of their work.
    Have you seen that top pattern made with a scarf and a crocheted yoke? It made me think of you with the way you like to mix materials.

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      You have a much bigger place to get in shape than I do, I’m not surprised you’ve been snowed under. Plus you have guests coming!! (I would never do that to myself).
      Have not seen the top. But now that I know it exists I will spend the rest of the morning trawling pinterest……. :-)

      Reply
      1. kathrynrubidoux

        The guests provide motivation, now if I could get my room and office organized and keep them that way, I’d be happy. The pattern I saw was by Handy Kitty, if that helps your search at all.

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

