oops. been a while.

It’s challenging fitting everything in sometimes. A lot of times, actually. But then you all know all about that, too!  On days when I’ve really overextended myself, supper is yogurt and a banana and then I’m in bed quite early. It’s all I’m good for. Plus I think I deserve it. And on days when I’ve haven’t extended myself much at all, I tell myself I was busier in my head than usual so I still think I deserve my bed and book when I please.

Tomorrow the Festive Ideas market opens at the Simondium Country Lodge, for five days. Everyone set up today – usually a bit stressful at the best of times, but the weather wasn’t playing fair and the temperature shot up to over 40 degrees.  Simondium is an hour’s drive for me, and by the time I got home at about 5.30, I was crazed with heat-brain and heat-body. I don’t know how else to put it. I was the most finished I’ve ever been. It took an very stationary hour under a wet towel to recover.

Here is part of my stand (the focus is on pillow cases, you’ll gather, rather than hats, beanies and bags)

sim 2

and here, if you look carefully, you can see one of the many peacocks that has given its name to the Peacock Palace – the ‘hall’ where I am set up, along with 8 other traders.  If the windows aren’t closed at night, apparently they come in and crap mess all over everything.

sim 1

There are 130 traders in total, and the venue is just perfect for such a huge variety of products and styles. It was still pretty overwhelming today, though, and I was mighty glad to get home to my wet towel and some peace and quiet.

Ah well, tomorrow is another day, and the weatherman says it’ll be about 10 degrees cooler than it was today. Fingers crossed.

18 thoughts on “oops. been a while.

  1. katechiconi

    There you are. I was beginning to wonder, but I see that there has been lots going on. I really like your ‘bed headboard’ display stand, clever idea for showing your pillowcases to best advantage. Deep sympathy and fellow feeling for the heat exhaustion – sounds like you’re getting a share of our El Niño weather. Lord, I wish it would rain… But maybe not until after your market!

    Reply
  2. Gwenni

    Jill, your display is beautiful , good luck, I am sure you will do very well. Love those pillow cases, I definitely want to order a few before you get too busy!

    Reply
  3. Gail

    Jill, your headboard display is so clever with your amazing pillow cases. Are those bags hanging behind the pillow cases? Good luck at the market. Sure it will be a huge success. xxx

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

