on the tiles

Over eight years ago (or 96 moons…or 416 weekends…or 2816 days..!!!) I was struck with the brilliance of the idea of mosaicing a large part of my bathroom wall. I got someone in to carefully remove the old tiles, and then I got to work. I was passionate about it – for at least two months. I tested different kinds of tile adhesive, found new tile retailers, gleaned inspiration from books, ruined my hands with the tile nippers and bits of broken glass… Then I got over it. Then years passed. Then I sold my flat.

This is the state of the mosaic when the (now) new owner put in his offer to purchase. I had expected that he wouldn’t have the slightest interest in it, and would probably even renovate the bathroom entirely (it’s a bit dated, and new owners like to do that kind of thing).

mosaic 1

I was wrong. Philip loved the mosaic and, in a most complimentary and encouraging fashion, even included a clause in the Deed of Sale whereby I would complete “the work” before the occupation date. To which I had to agree if I wanted the sale.

Shit. You know me and deadlines. But sometimes even I surprise myself!  Philip moves in on Monday (it’s Saturday here now), and here is the progress I’ve made:

mosaic 3

About 2.5% of the total remains to be tiled, and then tomorrow morning I’ll get busy with the grout. It’s going to be lovely, and of course intensely ironic – only my daughter appreciated the fact that I have managed to complete a big project after a very long time, for someone else’s bathtime enjoyment….

16 thoughts on “on the tiles

  1. Gail

    Well done, goes to show all over again, that you are an adrenaline junkie and enjoy living on the edge. Thought of you the other day when I broke a plate and wondered if you still want pieces of broken china.

    Reply
  2. katechiconi

    Nothing like a financial penalty to make a deadline really strike home! Once it’s done, you can look at it and wonder why it took you so long, and feel proud that you actually finished something you thought was doomed.

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      Indeed. With every little piece that goes on, I remind myself of the excellent price I got for my flat. Today, however, is grouting day – and I think I’ll have to revert to childhood habits by dangling a very big carrot for myself when it’s finally done (Swiss chocolate and a manicure isn’t going to cut it).

      Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      Yes. Lucky Philip. It’s quite an arresting memory to have of the previous owner, too, when you’re flossing your teeth in the morning and stripping off for your shower!

      Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

