patchworky

I’m getting all patchworky. And I’m blaming Kate. My first two bedspreads were large irregular squares and rectangles and some strips. Nice, she said, but try cutting smaller squares because then you can fit in more contrasting fabrics. And what do you know, I’m hooked!

red-1

Side one and side two of a bright reddy-orangey mix, four strips of 10 squares each so far. I’ve opted for 10-inch squares because it seems like a manageable size. Not too big, not too small.  Yay for the rotary cutter and cutting mat. If the house started burning down, they are now the first two items I would grab. (Sorry, cats.)

red-2

Maggie asks if I will be quilting the bedspread. It’s a short answer – No. There will be no batting and no fancy-pants stitching designs. There will be a lightweight cotton backing and topstitching round the edge. I know my limits!

15 thoughts on “patchworky

  1. katechiconi

    I take full responsibility (heheh, I will get you quilting yet…). This is gorgeous, lovely colour combinations, and 10 inch squares is a good place to start. It’s also a fun way to make use of really large scale patterns. If you don’t want to start with the whole batting thing, having a flannel layer in between the front and back will give it more drape and a little more warmth on the bed, and won’t involve any more work apart from trimming another piece of fabric to size… But be sure to wash it first to get any shrinking out of the way.

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

