some scrappy bits

This image caught my eye (both eyes actually) on pinterest recently, and it’s been at the back of my mind for a while.  It also doesn’t hurt that Kate from Chiconia emails to ask me if I have any scrappy posts from time to time…

patchwork-kaffe-fasset

(Credit here)

I really liked the simplicity of making a square out of three strips, and then sewing them together with the strips in different directions. So I squeezed a few strips (30 by 12cm) out of the bedspread ‘leavings’, and found it didn’t even take as long to sew them up as I’d anticipated – obviously it helps that I’m not doing anything on a teeny weeny scale!

100_2620

How dull they look next to the crimsons and shocking pinks above, but I’m working with what I’ve got since the idea is to use up the scraps, right? … but oh how I do love those clashing vibrant colours all mixed up together!

100_2621

I think I’m also not very professional at mixing my fabric patterns, but I like the way my combinations turn out – very often based on which bits of material are immediately at hand, and what “order” they’re in!  If there’s no random element to this at all, then it loses its appeal for me.

16 thoughts on “some scrappy bits

  1. katechiconi

    The warm colours are lovely, but it’s hard to go wrong with Kaffe Fassett fabrics. I do love your scrappy project – sometimes you need quieter colours and patterns, and I think you’re pretty good at mixing things up successfully. Your link is up in the ScrapHappy post for tomorrow :-)

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      Yes, his stuff is almost frantic sometimes! But I seem to be drawn to that style, at least on pinterest – my bedroom reflects absolutely nothing colourful at all at the moment. I’m so weird. :-)

      Reply
  2. Pingback: ScrapHappy November | talltalesfromchiconia

  3. magpiesue

    I’ve been eyeing the trimmings of quilts I’ve made lately, wondering whether I could be bold enough to just slice them up and make blocks like the ones you’ve made. You’ve shown me it can be done successfully. Still not sure I’ll be brave enough to go there. ;-)

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      Do it, do it! If it doesn’t work, you’ve lost nothing but a bit of time :-) I found some more old bits to slice up this afternoon, I think I have enough squares for a whole bedspread now but not sure when I’ll get around to sewing them up. Thanks for your comment, it is so nice of you.

      Reply
  4. Pingback: scrappy sew-up | Nice piece of work

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

