fruity bits

Magnified 75,000 times, here is the first fruitling on the tomato plant Michele G gave me as a housewarming present in October.

tomato-1

Despite the drought, the baking sun, the Cape wind, and the very crap quality of soil that it has to deal with, it has managed to survive and FLOURISH!! It loves me!!  It will be rewarded with extra mulch and some rooibos-infused cool water a little later this morning after – wait for this…- after I’ve planted the baby melons.

melon-babies

They called to me yesterday at the nursery when I took Alex plant-shopping for her new flat and I couldn’t resist. If a single baby tomato can excite me, imagine the effect of six honeydew melon plants. It’ll be like having all my birthdays at once.

Last fruit-related thing for now: the granadilla at the front is laden with heavy harvest! I was very pleased to see the beautiful flowers start opening up in the spring but thought no more about it – so the emergence of the fruit came as an electrifyingly wonderful surprise. Like a miracle.

grannies-1

I hope you all find a little miracle of some sort or another today. xxx

16 thoughts on “fruity bits

  1. katechiconi

    I have fruity stuff happening too. A bowlful of at least 20 passionfruit, and I have my eye on the mango trees, there are two particularly luscious fruits on one of them and I want to get there before the rosellas, cockatoos and flying foxes! We’ve had a couple of days of heavy rain and more forecast, great for the back yard, not so hot for the cane farmers who are trying to finish the cut before Christmas…

    Reply
  2. Patch

    Oh yes, we had a miracle. I’ve been to the church with work for the first of our Christmas Nativities. I couldn’t stay till the end but it was going amazingly well…… And that’s a huge miracle (it was a right dogs dinner yesterday!!!!).

    Reply
  3. yarnchick40

    What happy news you fruity girlie! They all look so lovely! But I must ask, what does a granadilla taste like? Is it similar to the red passion fruit? I have never seen them before.

    Reply
  4. tgonzales

    Oh Jill! I love to watch vegetables grow (I know tomatoes are supposed to be a fruit) but I will always call them a vegetable. Thanks for sharing your little bit of the world with us. Love and Hugs! Tamara

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

