cuttings and honey

Have cuttings, will plant.

I had quite a nice assortment sitting in water on the kitchen window sill last week, and they were ready for the big world of Soil and Fresh Air. Somewhere at the very bottom of an as-yet unpacked box is a tub of plant hormone powder. I could be pushing up daisies before it gets found, but Karen came up with an alternative – without which there may not be any daisies at all! Honey.

I thought she might have been overdoing the back pain medication, but google proved me wrong. I boiled up my water, added the honey, and let it cool overnight. Then I did the planty things:

Mazus reptans and Plectranthus nicodemus

cuttings-1

Plectranthus ecklonii (you have to look hard to see the two tiny new leaves popping out in there, but they’re there!)

cuttings-2

Portulocaria afra (I didn’t even plant it properly, just shoved it down the side of a pot of geraniums) – it’s also known as spekboom in Afrikaans. Spek in English is bacon, which is why you may also hear it referred to as porkbush. Which I think sounds stupid. Some things shouldn’t be translated!

cuttings-4

Nepeta cataria (catnip) – the only plant I’m trying to grow that isn’t indigenous to South Africa. It’s for my girls :)

cuttings-3

So, was it just me, or did you also learn something from Karen?

12 thoughts on “cuttings and honey

  1. katechiconi

    Nope, honey’s a well known alternative. I can’t believe you’re *planting* portulaca, it grows like crazy wherever it feels like round here, the trick is getting rid of it!

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      hahaha This isn’t portulaca grandiflora – that’s the flowering kind (which I greatly dislike). Do you have both kinds growing there?
      The garden I inherited is a strange one, for many reasons, and I have been gripped by the desire to change it as much as possible. That’s another story…but I’d be happy to have more spekboom growing here :)

      Reply
      1. katechiconi

        No, I think your spekboom is more related to Purslane, which is an edible version. I did a post about it ages ago which details how amazing it is nutritionally, but like most members of the family, it grows again from any tiny rootlet in the soil, so you can easily end up with far too much. Here’s the post link in case you’re interested:
        http://wp.me/p3Wfbs-8g

  2. insearchofitall

    You add honey to the water then water the cutting with that? It’s all Greek to me. Still trying to find my rooting medium too. Though I think I’m through most of the boxes now. Thanks for the information.

    Reply
      1. insearchofitall

        I plan to be box free in a couple of weeks. I want no cardboard left anywhere. It’s only taken over 6 years to get to some of them. Keep me posted as to how you are doing with that. I’ll let it be known when the last one goes. :)

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

