getting by

When big, stressful things in life threaten to overwhelm me (especially when two or three of them coincide), I have to go looking for small morsels of pleasure, things to be grateful for, as affirmation that the world isn’t a volcano of shit about to erupt!

So today, we have (1) work: I have been commissioned to make a 3 by 3 metre patchwork bedspread by a Swiss woman who particularly wants guinea fowls and proteas dotted around (because who doesn’t LOVE South African stuff!?), but I’m also using some other designs of my own. I’m having fun with printing today.

100_2755.JPG

(2) Ripe granadillas from the front garden. Just perfect. And a few hundred more, close to readiness…

100_2756

(3) Zimbabwean flame lilies from Shona’s garden, with roots, ready for a bit of nurturing. If nothing else manages to do well here (and our water restrictions have just been upped another notch – Cape Town only has sufficient water for another 85 days -gak!), surely these will?! I’m not going to list any of the plants that have given up the ghost in the last couple of weeks, because this is a POSITIVE post.

100_2758

(4) and if all else fails — false nails!

100_2666

22 thoughts on “getting by

      1. katechiconi

        Time to put out some buckets to catch any spare! I remember standing in a tub to shower so I could tip the grey water onto my garden, and catching the laundry water in another one (this on on wheels so I could shift it). I had a look at the house I lived in then on Google Earth the other day. The hedge I saved with my laundry and shower water is now 2 metres high!

      2. Nice piece of work Post author

        We’ve already had all the outside pipes reworked/replaced so all the water from washing machines, sink, and 3rd bathroom can be collected. There is a built-in grey water system from my bathroom and the 2nd one. We even have brand new buckets !
        If more people had taken the low water levels seriously, a year ago, we wouldn’t be in this mess :(

  1. Gail

    So grateful that our birthday gang is having a non-birthday lunch on Friday. Looking forward to seeing you there and admiring your nails in real life. xxx

    Reply
  2. tgonzales

    Hi Jill. I’m thankful for you and your positive thoughts today. I am sending lots of positive thoughts for rain to come your way. And if you were wondering I did not know what a granadilla was (so I had to look it up) and I love your nails; such a lovely bright cheery color. Love and Hugs, Tamara

    Reply
  3. Lynn

    Hahahahahaaaa…..LOVE THE NAILS! I’m starting a course tomorrow and am quite anxious about it so guess what I did today? Got false nails!!

    Reply
  4. Patch

    Are grenadillas like passion fruit then?? Having pretty nails really does help cheer me up too…. I should do it more often! Loving the printing.

    Reply
  5. insearchofitall

    I loved this statement,” affirmation that the world isn’t a volcano of shit about to erupt!”. Sure puts things in perspective. I move to the Pacific NW of the US to make sure I wouldn’t have to live with water restrictions. That would make me crazy. But the weather patterns are so off everywhere that, who knows, you could get a river of rain when you are least expecting it. I’ll keep good thoughts for you and your country. Glad you have work to do. Looking forward to seeing the finished project.

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      Thanks, Marlene. It IS making us all crazy here – but most of us were crazy to start with, so it might be hard to tell. We also live in a crazy society, so it’s difficult to say which came first, the chicken or the egg.
      I aimed to get the 13 panels finished last night, but I just couldn’t – it was still so hot by 8.30pm that I only just managed to slither in and out of the shower before collapsing onto the bed ! Today is a lot cooler, thank heavens, and we even had grey skies and a bit of rain earlier – for about 3 minutes :(

      Reply
      1. insearchofitall

        I’ll keep good, wet thoughts for your country. Yes, the world is a little crazy and I’m probably one of the head crazies. :) That’s how I survive when the summer gets too hot to move an eyelid. In and out of the shower several times a day.

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

