a pinny and a pie

Dexterously combining two themes in one post here: (a) a further attempt at cooking in the oven, and (b) a Scrap Happy project for Kate’s collection.

Sean's pie

Last year, staying with Sean and Melinda in Grahamstown, Sean made this fabulous spinach and feta pie for our supper one evening. It’s not vegan because the recipe calls for eggs, ricotta and feta – which means Melinda couldn’t have any – but I guess she was used to that, Sean usually going big on the carnivore side of things! Anyway, he sent me the link and it’s been lurking on my bookmarks bar ever since. Last night = girls’ night at my house = chance to make pie and graciously accept amazed compliments on having made something both edible and attractive.

karen apron

Theme #2: Karen mentioned that she could use another pinny for her work at the Service Dining Rooms.  I made this for her last week, from leftovers of fabric from cushions and bedspreads, and a bit of lace and some orange bobbles at the bottom left over from who the hell knows what.  Here she is, trying to give a realistic impression of a happily domesticated woman about to dish up the pie, but looking more like someone who’s watched The Shining too many times. Perhaps she would have been happier with an axe.

19 thoughts on “a pinny and a pie

  1. Gail

    The pie looks delish and the pinny even more so. I can never get the top shape looking good on pinnies so just make it straight and then the corners stab the pinny wearer in the face when turning their head.

    Reply
  2. katechiconi

    She looks like a woman with a busy day ahead of her, say “Jill, great pinny, but unless you’re going to help dish up, enough with the camera!” The SDR is a great thing, wish I was close enough to volunteer occasionally…

    Reply
    1. Nice Piece of Work Post author

      I was meeting a friend for coffee the other day; she said, I’m clearing out stuff and have some scraps, can you use them? I said, Sure, I love scraps. She said, But some of them are really just bits and pieces. I don’t want to get your hopes up. I said, ALISON, I LIVE FOR SCRAPS. BRING IT ON!!!

      Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

