memory shade

(a two-blog day, sorry to clog up your inboxes like this but I won’t be blogging again until Monday so perhaps you’ll forgive me).

One of the things that I get the utmost pleasure and satisfaction from these days is saying or doing or making or wearing something that is so unbelievably horrific to the mind of an 18-year old that she loses the capacity to speak. I know it’s childish of me, but I can’t help it – all parents of teenagers will be nodding knowingly now, in true empathy.

Here’s how I did it this morning:

I finished my new bedroom light fitting!!!
I’ve been fiddling with it for a few days already, and I decided it was finally ready to put up and photograph. ALEX WAS SPEECHLESS. hahahahahahaha … we have very different tastes when it comes to decor and interiors and colours! She is the cool, neutral pretty flamingo and I am the wild baroque over-the-top gypsy peacock/magpie.

I used a two-ring flat wire frame, stitched a double layer of organza around the inner ring, then hit my stash of stuff [beads, buttons, chains, ribbons, lace, wool, old necklaces, broken brooches, single earrings, tassels, even the bonbonniere from Katie’s wedding, strips of fabric, disco balls, wire angels…) and looped or hooked or hung it all round the outer ring. I call it the memory shade, because I don’t want to throw any item away that reminds me of something that I want to remember but don’t necessarily want lying around the place cluttering up even more than I am already cluttered.

It looks a bit like one of those nasty Portuguese man-o-war jellyfish, I suppose. But it has a certain….je ne sais quoi, n’est pas?! I guess it’s what the Etsyians would call OOAK.

To be continued…

19 thoughts on “memory shade

  1. tgonzales

    Good Morning Jill!

    I love your whimsyical lamp shade and I especially love that you left your daughter speechless. Isn’t that our job as parents to horrify our children sometimes (or maybe a lot)? Good luck at the Market and have a good time.

    Love and Hugs,
    Tamara

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      Thanks, Tamara. I probably shouldn’t say this/ write the words down, but I don’t feel up to tomorrow’s market :( Hopefully this feeling will pass if I pack the car early and get an early night…. :-)

      Reply
      1. tgonzales

        You have been working way too hard, but I think you have the right idea about getting you car packed early that way you will have time to maybe get a little rest!

        Love and (((HUGS)))
        Tamara

  2. Gail

    The pleasure in horrifying your children never ends. I still get great pleasure when my almost 40 year old son and his wife (whom I love dearly) shudder and raise their eyebrows when I show them something I’ve made and threaten to give to them as a family heirloom.

    Gail

    Reply
    1. Nice piece of work Post author

      “omg”!!!! I’m cracking up!!! I would indeed hit my head but it’s hanging over my bed so I’ll be safe. I know it’s weird but I think it has great potential. I’m making another one as we speak “-)

      Reply
  3. Pingback: and this little piggie went to market – again… « Nice piece of work

  4. gentlestitches

    I love it. I love the idea of having things that are loved that are often stored away out for us to enjoy in a practical way. I wish I could see the look on the teens face although I am fairly certain I have seen it once or twice myself before. : )

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

