coverlet

So, my bedroom desperately needs a facelift. It will have to wait a good while, however, because nothing pretty can be done until (1) the penetrative damp from outside has been dealt with, (2) the bathroom next door has been made into an en suite, and (3) the walls have been replastered and treated. Oh yes, and the floor needs sanding and polishing. Sigh.

A quick and colourful stopgap was required. And if it cost next to nothing, even better :-)

bed 1

I chopped up an old cotton tablecloth that I’d paid R20 for at the charity shop,  and used up some of the leftovers that Suzette gives me when she’s finished making her cushions, (bags and boxes of the stuff, I tell you! I love riffling through them….) to make what I think is best called a coverlet. It’s not a quilt, obviously, ‘counterpane’ is too Victorian, and ‘bedspread’ seems a step too far for a random patchworky piece of fabric with an old cotton sheet used for backing.

bed 2

bed 3

Not sure if this qualifies for Kate’s ScrapHappy, because those clever quilting ladies make very beautiful fabrics from teeny morsels of left-overs, but Kate can let me know :-)

16 thoughts on “coverlet

  1. katechiconi

    Nowhere does it say that scrappy = weeny. ScrapHappy has few rules, and this lovely thing is perfectly compliant! It has a wonderful vintage vibe, and coverlet is exactly the correct term for a pieced and backed bedspread without batting or quilting, according to the Textile Collection at the Victoria & Albert Museum in London.

    Reply
  2. nanacathy2

    It’s wonderful, and if the fabric was in a charity shop then clrecrly it is scrap material. I think that’s what I will have to do with my hexies,when the time comes.

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)