paving: before and after

A well-used part of our little piece of the world is at the front of the house. The original garage was converted into a third bathroom so the driveway was gardened over years ago. It’s very pretty and we didn’t want to lose the sacred bamboo, the aloes, the plumbago and the white pear tree, but we needed more space for our cars. And also a tidier look!

pre-paving-3     pre-paving-2

old-garden

It took four men (from Boss Paving) five days to finish the job, and they really excelled themselves.

bricks-1

That’s Tess posing for a new profile pic :-)

bricks-3

The previous owner, who is a lovely, creative woman and a well-known writer, had a natural talent for combining unusual and baroque elements in her home. The swans at the gate had become something of a landmark in this little part of Mowbray, but I am boring and conventional compared to Helen so I opted for plain pointy pier caps and decided to encourage the swans to fly into the back garden, to roost amongst the inca lilies.

swans-2

And looking at the above photo, I’m wondering if I haven’t actually made a mistake… :(

4 thoughts on “paving: before and after

  1. katechiconi

    Aha! The riot of colour is explained. I think I’d have moved the swans too… I’d prefer them gliding elegantly through the foliage. And that paving is gorgeous – great choice!

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)