Yarning along with Rachel

So Rachel does this Yarning Along thing now, and I thought it was about time I supported her initiative and joined in. She’s making a superb star crochet blanket from leftovers, as you can see on her latest post, whereas I have laid my crochet hooks to rest for a few months. What I can manage is knitting – I linked up with the lovely crafty ladies at Martli’s house again this morning, and we’ve decided to knit up some blankets to give to people who need them more than we do.  Here’s my beginning:

yarning along

and here’s my current read: Mediated: How the Media Shape Your World, by de Zengotita. He’s an American anthropologist and teacher, but this book isn’t academic or pretentious in any way – it’s highly readable, enjoyable and funny, and is really making me think about how our “reality” is constructed for us, and how we (as audience, or consumers) are positioned within it.

That’s it from me for now. Still taking things slowly here…. xxx

9 thoughts on “Yarning along with Rachel

  1. katechiconi

    Thanks for the book recommendation, I’ll take a look if my local library has it. Good to see you back in the blogosphere, glad you’re hanging in there. I often wonder how you’re doing…

    Reply
  2. tgonzales

    Hi Jill! I’m so glad to see you back. I have been wanting to start writing on my blog again, but I can’t figure out where to start. Love and Hugs from Kansas!

    Reply
  3. Vikki Bird

    I came to you via Yarning Along. Good to see I’m not the only one still using straight metal needles, though yours are much less bent than mine! Well done for knitting for good causes – I never quite find the time.

    Reply
    1. Nice Piece of Work Post author

      Hi Vikki! These ones aren’t bent because they aren’t mine – I borrowed them from Martli while I was sitting on her couch this morning eating brownies and drinking coffee…everyone else’s hands were busy and I felt sudden shame :) A combination of tendonitis and arthritis in my right hand and arm are preventing me from crocheting, and what I produce for sale is now restricted to sewing and screenprinting, so the knitting is just a fill-in activity. Also a good way to use up the kazillion half balls of wool I have cluttering up the house….

      Reply
  4. Patch

    Sounds like an intriguing book. You are brave starting something with black yarn… I now know why my Grandma used to hate knitting me black jumpers (the only colour I wanted at the time).

    Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)

