Yarning along with Rachel (2)

My second post, after a mild nudge, to tie in with Rachel’s Yarning Along series (see what I did there?) Rachel’s right, it is interesting to see what other people are reading!

yarning along 2

Well, all you UK readers will know this chap quite well. I wasn’t aware he’d written anything at all along these lines until a friend lent me this book and, I have to say, he makes reading history an absolutely captivating adventure. If there’s any irony to be found in a situation, Boris is your man, and his style is drily contemporary.  I’ve watched him in a couple of news reports and meetings on youtube and, while I have to say I wouldn’t like to work with the guy, he’d certainly be a whole lot of fun at a dinner party.

And the knitting? Yes, it is exactly what you thought it was – a meaningless rectangle of garter stitch with randomly chosen colours. But I’ve heard that the Mowbray Maternity Hospital is always glad to receive baby blankets – some of the mothers arrive and leave with practically nothing – so it might be turned into something like that (despite the odd mix). A baby won’t care what colours it’s wrapped in, anyway, and the nights are truly cold here now.

13 thoughts on “Yarning along with Rachel (2)

  1. katechiconi

    He’s an interesting bloke and despite his OTT personality, is rather bright. Should I be suddenly seized by an urge for history, I shall give this one a look. Is your knitting keeping you warm this winter, or is it simply something to do with your hands?

    Reply
      1. katechiconi

        It’s this slightly perverted behaviour where people prefer to spend time cleaning, dusting, doing laundry, etc, instead of more pleasurable and activities. Weird, eh?

  2. Linne

    Love your exchange with Kate re: housework. I have to concur. the dust isn’t going anywhere and there are so many fascinating things to do with our time besides chase something that will only return next day. I have added ‘The Dream of Rome’ to my ‘to read’ list. Not reading much at present, but I always welcome a new author. My favourites are so SLOW (mostly due to doing such excellent work, I suppose, bur honestly . . .) Thanks for the recommendation. Hope you are doing well. Lots of love and blessings coming your way. ~ Linne

    Reply
    1. Nice Piece of Work Post author

      Hi Linne, hope you are doing well, too. The funny thing is that, if I ever do manage to do a little bit of tidying or cleaning, I feel like Super Woman afterwards. It’s a rewarding experience – but only after the fact! I will admit that I find it easier to think creative things and do creative work if my workspace is relatively organised…but I can always dream….
      I still have an entire large room full of unpacked boxes to sort out, from when I moved house OVER A YEAR AGO :( I’m so bad.

      Reply

Thoughts or comments? You can tell me :-)